SRX

last person joined: 4 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  Junos Pulse with an SRX100 only?

Posted 04-25-2012 08:15

Hello Everyone,

I am trying to figure out my first juniper project. Before I start, I want to mention that I am still in school and I am doing an internship at this company, so I am not en expert. This is my first time dealing with Juniper gear - I really love the idea about getting deeper into it and I believe that this can be a good start.

Anyway, here's what I am trying to do:

I have to deploy Pulse on a few laptops, iphones and android phones. The idea is that the company where I am doing my internship wants to use it as a demo for clients and obviously show them how cool Pulse is:)

We have a demo license for Junos Pulse's mobile security gateway.

So what they gave me is an SRX100 box and I have to use that as a stand-alone gateway at a central location - there will be no branches and stuff like that. And then people should be able to reach some shared demo resources through their laptops or smart phones.

I have been reading all kinds of materials for the past few days and I still can't really figure out a lot of things:)

So my questions are:

1. Is this SRX100 unit sufficient for what I am trying to achieve?
    2. Is there a document or a KB regarding a topology like that - I am not really sure what the topology should be in this situation.
    3. Is there a deployment guide for a small network like that? All the materials that I found were for a much bigger network with central locations and branches and a lot more devices involved...

I hope someone will have a few spare minutes to help me out with that:)

• 2.  RE: Junos Pulse with an SRX100 only?

Posted 04-25-2012 08:18

I'm pretty sure Pulse + SRX + iPhone will not work as the SRX only does IPSec while the iOS client only does SSL.

If you get it working let me know.