SRX Services Gateway
Visitor
Bhisham

RDP,OUTLOOK get dissconnected!!!

[ Edited ]

Hi ALL,

I am new to Juniper and first of all i wud like to say HI!!! to all.

I am stuck in problem!!! i have SRX 240 Series Juniper gateway.

SRX 240 is a gateway for a Vlan (which is on my core switch) Issue is OUTLOOK and RDP get dissconnected very frequently. This issue is coming in Windows 7 OS PC's, earlier it came in XP also but after Stoping OS firewall it started working fine.

Has somebody faced the same problem? Please help!!

All protocols, services are allowed through SRX eventhen this issue is happenning.

Thanks

Bhisham

Recognized Expert
Dominik

Re: RDP,OUTLOOK get dissconnected!!!

[ Edited ]

Hi,

what JUNOS version do you run on the SRX 240? There have been issues reported that the ALG for remote procedure calls cases problems on certain versions of JUNOS. As Outlook communicates with Exchange through the MAPI interface that is based on RPC, this could explain your problems.

Try to disable the MS-RPC ALG with this command in configuration mode (+commit):

set security alg msrpc disable

In general, I would highly recommend to upgrade to JUNOS 10.2 R3. The RDP drops are not so easy to explain. Are the clients disconnected while working or where they idle for some time? Because the SRX drops sessions after (usually) 30 minutes inactivity. This is by intention to prevent session table overflow from deprecated sessions. If this is the case, you could increase the timeout value in the application object, e.g. by

set applications application RDP destination-port 3389 inactivity-timeout 86400

and using that application in your policy or you could enable RDP keep alives in group policy (or registry) what keeps the session alive, even if the user is idle for some time.

If the disconnects happen when the user is working, a more advanced analysis might become necessary.

Kind regards,

Dominik

JNCIE et al.

--