SRX

last person joined: 23 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  SRX 100H (11.2R4.3) : Cannot get fe-0/0/0 to speak to the outside world

Posted 06-14-2013 02:53

Hey,

This is my first time playing with an SRX, and I'm a little stuck. Setup:

fe-0/0/0 <--> ISP

fe-0/0/1 <--> Server

We have a publically addressed /27 we want to use internally. We want the SRX to be in ethernet-switch mode, however also respond on both loopback (lo0) and a vlan interface (vlan.0). As it stands right now, we can ping the server connected to the SRX, but we cannot hit the SRX. Our mac address table is populated correctly, as is our ARP table. 

- From the Server, ISP gateway responds to ICMP. 

- From the SRX, ISP gateway does not respond to ICMP. 

- From the Server, SRX responds to ICMP, TCP

- From outside, Server responds to ICMP

- From outside, SRX responds to ICMP (as per tcpdump), but packet never reaches destination. 

Looking at the outputs from tcpdump, I can see from the RE, we're sending the reply, however that return packet never reaches the source. I suspect that there's still some firewall-y weirdness happening, however since I'm not a firewall guy, I cannot find where. 

Configuration:

> show configuration | display set
    set version 11.2R4.3
    set system services ssh root-login allow
    set system services ssh protocol-version v2
    set system syslog archive size 100k
    set system syslog archive files 3
    set system syslog user * any emergency
    set system syslog file messages any info
    set system syslog file messages authorization info
    set system syslog file interactive-commands interactive-commands error
    set system max-configurations-on-flash 20
    set system max-configuration-rollbacks 20
    set system license autoupdate url https://ae1.juniper.net/junos/key_retrieval
    set interfaces fe-0/0/0 unit 0 family ethernet-switching vlan members default