SRX Services Gateway
Reply
Contributor
after1
Posts: 69
Registered: ‎06-04-2010
0

SRX240-H 1000BASE-T vs 1000BASE-TX

SRX-240H supports 1000BASE-T but my ISP switch supports 1000BASE-TX. I realized that with BASE-T you must use CAT 5 and BASE-TX  you must use CAT6. Will this work if I use CAT6?

 

Please advise,

Many thanks

Contributor
mjain
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎04-04-2010
0

Re: SRX240-H 1000BASE-T vs 1000BASE-TX

I could get the follwoing details about cat5 & cat6.

 

Cat-6, is a cable standard for Gigabit Ethernet and other network protocols that are backward compatible with the Category 5/5e and Category 3 cable standards. Compared with Cat-5 and Cat-5e, Cat-6 features more stringent specifications for crosstalk and system noise. The cable standard provides performance of up to 250 MHz and is suitable for 10BASE-T, 100BASE-TX (Fast Ethernet), 1000BASE-T / 1000BASE-TX (Gigabit Ethernet) and 10GBASE-T (10-Gigabit Ethernet).

Trusted Contributor
sor
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎05-20-2010
0

Re: SRX240-H 1000BASE-T vs 1000BASE-TX

[ Edited ]

You can use cat6 in place of cat5 on pretty much anything. Of more concern is that TX only uses two pair, while T uses all four. I'm guessing that the TX device will be backward compatible, maybe.

Contributor
TimotiSt
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-18-2009
0

Re: SRX240-H 1000BASE-T vs 1000BASE-TX

There is a great deal of confusion about 1000Base-T vs. -TX. TX was a short lived standard years ago, and most gigabit equipment is in fact 1000Base-T. Since the 100Mb standard was called 100Base-TX, most people use the from 1000Base-TX for gigabit. 1000Base-T can run on Cat-5E or better, including Cat-6 cables, and requires 4 pairs of wire.

 

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1000BASE-TX#1000BASE-TX

 

JNCIA-ER,-EX, JNCIS-ES, MCSA, CCNA and all that jazz...
Trusted Contributor
stine
Posts: 434
Registered: ‎05-05-2008
0

Re: SRX240-H 1000BASE-T vs 1000BASE-TX

Cat3, Cat5/5e and Cat6 are all 4-pair cables.  The difference is in the inside of the cable: the relative twists of the individual pairs.  The twists in Ca5/5e and Cat6 are designed to eliminate crosstalk (as was mentioned above) in 100Mbit and 1000Mbit operation.

 

The real-world answer is, yes, you can run Gigabit Ethernet over cat3, cat5/5e or cat6, but you'll find that the length of cable-run you can achieve will vary greatly, and your hardware vendors will only support you if you use cat6 that is within spec.

 

Theodore E Van Iderstine
Stream Networks
+1 678 373 4200 x125
JNCIA-ER (expired), JNCIA-SSL (ditto)
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.