SRX Services Gateway
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Contributor
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
0 Kudos

SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

[ Edited ]

Anyone else have any problems with their SRX where it just stops completely? Doesn't pass any traffic, can't ping any interfaces, can't SSH into it, but logging onto the console doesn't show any errors? I've opened a case with JTAC, but so far they aren't able to find anything suspicious.

 

I do want to add that I have a red status light when this happens on my 16-port GPIM. I don't recall if there's an alarm light on the SRE... hard to say when you have the weight of a couple thousand users wondering why the internet is down.

 

For the time being I have deactivated all UTM, which kind of makes purchasing the SRX pointless. Should have stuck with the trusty PIX we've been using the past 10 years Smiley Tongue

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-18-2010
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

I have had this happen on a SRX240 with Junos 10.0S3.1, no messages or log entries to show anything wrong.

Contributor
Posts: 33
Registered: ‎01-05-2009
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

Hi Versello,

 

Did you notice if the 4 onboard interfaces were still functioning properly?

 

Z.

Contributor
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

[ Edited ]

Z-Blocker,

 

The onboard interfaces stopped functioning. I am unable to ping any IP addresses associated with the onboard interfaces. The link lights remain lit, however.

 

So far no problems with UTM completely disabled... keeping my fingers crossed, though.

 

 

Ben - What did you do to resolve the issue? Upgrade to 10.1?

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-18-2010
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

Haven't fixed the problem yet, it happened again last night, do you have a JTAC Case # that I can reference so they will know more than one person is having the same problem?

Contributor
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

Ben,

 

JTAC ticket # is 10-0316-0673. Do you have one as well?

 

Out of curiosity, are you also using any UTM features as well?

 

Mike

 

 

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-18-2010
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

Yes, using IDP, Juniper Express Anti-Virus and integrated web filtering. I was going to use kaspersky, but some major websites wouldn't load properly when it was activated, I have a case open about that as well. The case # for traffic stopping is # 2010-0319-0185.

As of right now, they haven't gotten back to me with any long term solution/work around. To get it working again JTAC restarted the forwarding process "restart forwarding gracefully". One other thing that i noticed is that I have a port that it locked in configuration at 100m/Full-duplex, but shows in show interfaces as being Half-duplex after it stopped and I know it showed Full-duplex after configuring it. I saw another message on here somewhere about a port mismatch causing traffic to stop.

 

Ben

Contributor
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎03-19-2010
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

I had the same problem and I could see that the log-messages file had been increased, what I did was delete them and then the srx-650 began its operation successfully.
At the moment I have disabled.


# run start shell

% cd /cf/var/log

 

-rw-rw----  1 root  wheel  23891754 Oct 16 12:03 default-log-messages
-rw-rw----  1 root  wheel    950040 Oct 16 11:56 default-log-messages.0

 

# run file delete default-log-messages

# run file delete default-log-messages.0

 

# show
user * {
    any emergency;
}
file messages {
    any critical;
    authorization info;
}
file interactive-commands {
    interactive-commands error;
}
file default-log-messages {
    user any;
    archive size 1000000 files 5;
    structured-data;
}

From since the srx-650 is working properly.

 

Edgar Torres

Contributor
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎02-26-2008
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

I have also seen the same issue on a 100H & 240 using JunOS 10.0R1.8.

Contributor
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

Ben, Have you tried running without UTM features enabled to see if that resolves the issue? I disabled UTM on mine (but left IDP on) because I have a strong feeling that UTM is the culprit here, based off all the bugs I've heard.

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎09-13-2009
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

Hi,

 

i had the same issue with an srx240. device stops, and in the logs nothing to found, why the device stops..

Any new , hopefully, good news about that ?

-PIccolo
Contributor
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎11-09-2009
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

This is supposed to be fixed in 10.0S3 released 2 weeks ago and 10.0R3 planned for beginning of April

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎09-13-2009
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

Hi, can anyone confirm that this is fixed in 10.0S3 ?

where can i download 10.0S3 ?

 

thanks

-PIccolo
Contributor
Posts: 35
Registered: ‎02-12-2010
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

I had similar problem with my srx210. I've tried 10.0R1.8 and 10.0R2.1, but every few days router was stopping completely.

 

Solution was to set access lists on interfaces for mgmt access. There were many ssh attempts and some memory lick was a problem.

 

Regards,

Pioter

Contributor
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

[ Edited ]

You can download 10.0S3.1 here https://download.juniper.net/software/junos/specials/junos-srxsme-10.0S3.1-domestic.tgz. JTAC wanted me to downgrade to this to fix a separate issue I was having (Antivirus filtering enabled makes watching streaming videos buffer too slow to watch - didn't resolve it). I haven't tried 10.0S3.1 to fix my box from just stopping for no reason. I'm not prepared to downgrade without confirmation. My box is in production.

 

In the meantime, I have all UTM features disabled and my SRX 650 has been running fine for 1 week. Previously, it would stop every 1-3 days.

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-18-2010
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

It is not fixed in 10.0S3.1 as I have been having this problem as well. I disabled Anti-virus and so far the device seems to be working, but not sure if it will continue. Only about a day so far. JTAC has been less than helpful on this issue.

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎09-13-2009
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

Thanks for the replays...

Fortunatly i`m using the SRX210 at home, so there is no big problem, if it stops...

But in Production Environment this can costs you the job!

 

Seems that Juniper still have Problems with the SRX Series, but pushing the SRX anyway... Smiley Surprised

wonder, if many customers will switch to other products like palo alto or fortinet

 

Hope that this issue will stop in the next release

-PIccolo
Contributor
Posts: 60
Registered: ‎12-21-2009
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

They really need to get this crap straightened out. I was VPN'd from home checking emails when the SRX suddenly stopped again... fortunately it came back online after several minutes by itself and generated errors in the message log. I'm extremely pissed.

Super Contributor
Posts: 243
Registered: ‎11-06-2007
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

[ Edited ]

I'm troubleshooting an issue with a different platform, SRX240, with the same problem.  Typically, restarting the forwarding plane brings it back to life.  

 

The problem seems to be related to broadcast or multicast traversing multiple interfaces.  One idea is to restrict the switch port that is connected to each interface of the SRX to a single vlan, preventing this symptom from occurring.  Not sure if that matches anyone's symptom or not.

Trusted Contributor
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎03-18-2010
0 Kudos

Re: SRX650 10.1R1.8... just stops

oldtimer,

do you mean restricting a single vlan to a single port? or a port to a single vlan? Do you have a way of reproducing this?