SRX

last person joined: 13 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
  • 1.  Screen option SYN-FLOOD.

Posted 10-19-2016 13:32

Hi All,

i'm studying for the JNCIS-SEC and i'm studying the SCREEN options to avoid some attack types.

I understood that the SRX can do the tcp-proxy between a client and a server, right? This is enable by default, or not?

To protect the SRX from the syn-ack-ack attacks we can set a threshold based on source and destintation.

Ok, this explanation is fine to me.

But after i studied the syn attacks protection, raise a question in my head:

Since that the SRX do the tcp-proxy role, why i need enable the SYN Flood Protection?

I think unacessary enable the syn flood protection, because the SRX make the TCP-Proxy role.

Please, could someone explain the reason to enable the syn flood protection since that the SRX do the TCP-Proxy role?

Tks,

João Victor

• 2.  RE: Screen option SYN-FLOOD.

Posted 10-19-2016 13:58

Hi João 

The basic reason is to prevent a type of denial of service attack.

An attacker will attempt to create as many connections (sending SYN-ACK-ACK) to a particular resources that either the network equipment session tables or remote servers run out of resources.

SYN Flood protection are things like Source, Destination, Attack, Timeout and Alarm Thresholds, these are all mechanisms to prevent a proxy resources from being overload and maintain protection by a combination of the thresholds you have configured for SYN flood protection.

Sample Config:

[edit security screen]

ids-option untrust-screen {
        icmp {
            ip-sweep threshold 1000;
            fragment;
            large;
            flood threshold 200;
            ping-death;
        }
        ip {
            bad-option;
            stream-option;
            spoofing;
            source-route-option;
            strict-source-route-option;
            unknown-protocol;
            tear-drop;
        }