SRX Services Gateway
Reply
Contributor
rotearc
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎07-10-2010
0

Standalone SRX 210 with AE and vlan tagging problem

Hi,

 

I am trying to setup the SRX 210 running 11.2r1 in standalone, to bind the ge-0/0/0 and ge-0/0/1 tological aggregated Ethernet ae0 using LACP.   Create a subinterface (vlan tagged interface with unit).  The ge-0/0/0 and 1 are connected to a Cisco 3750 switch.

 

Test #1 Here is the interface config

 

interfaces {
    ge-0/0/0 {
        gigether-options {
            802.3ad ae0;
        }
    }
    ge-0/0/1 {
        gigether-options {
            802.3ad ae0;
        }
    }
    ae0 {
        vlan-tagging;
        aggregated-ether-options {
            lacp {
                active;
            }
        }
        unit 3 {
            vlan-id 3;
            family inet {
                address 10.1.1.3/24;
            }
        }
    }


 

Here is the Cisco switch config

interface Port-channel1
 description SRX_ge-0/0/0 and ge-0/0/1
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 3
 switchport mode trunk

 

interface GigabitEthernet0/21
 description SRX_ge-0/0/0
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 3
 switchport mode trunk
 media-type rj45
 no cdp enable
 channel-protocol lacp
 channel-group 1 mode active
!
interface GigabitEthernet0/22
 description SRX_ge-0/0/1
 switchport trunk allowed vlan 3
 switchport mode trunk
 media-type rj45
 no cdp enable
 channel-protocol lacp
 channel-group 1 mode active
!

 

If I unplug one of the ge-0/0/0 or ge-0/0/1 connection, the ping to 10.1.1.3 will fail.   

 

So, I started again, this time I go to JWEB and use the JWEB to config the ae0, this is the config

 

  interfaces {
    ge-0/0/0 {
        gigether-options {
            802.3ad ae0;
        }
    }
    ge-0/0/1 {
        gigether-options {
            802.3ad ae0;
        }
 ae0 {
        aggregated-ether-options {
            lacp {
                active;
            }
        }
        unit 0 {
            family ethernet-switching {
                port-mode trunk;
                vlan {
                    members internal;
                }
                native-vlan-id default;
            }
        }
    }
    vlan {
        unit 3 {
            family inet {
                address 10.1.1.3/24;
            }
        }
    }

vlans {
    internal {
        vlan-id 3;
        l3-interface vlan.3;
    }


With the family ethernet-switching and vlan.3 interface.  I can remove any one of the ge-0/0/0 or ge-0/0/1.  ping may fail one time, ping will recovery. 

 

What is the different between these two configs?  Why can't I just assign additional unit with vlan-id and ip address to the ae0 interface?   Why do I need use the ethernet switching?

 

Thanks,

 

R

Regular Visitor
rgoldberg
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-05-2011
0

Re: Standalone SRX 210 with AE and vlan tagging problem

All the SRXes I've set up to use ae use the latter method (and work fine).  I'm curious as to why you prefer the first method?

 

Ryan

Contributor
rotearc
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎07-10-2010
0

Re: Standalone SRX 210 with AE and vlan tagging problem

[ Edited ]

I am just used to create routed interfaces in the cisco world, I will think both methods should produce the same result.   I am sure there are other ways to do this as well.   I dont see the needs to assign ae0 back to ethernet-switch first, then create a new layer 3 interface under vlan to assoicate with it. 

 

R

Recognized Expert
rasmus
Posts: 375
Registered: ‎02-28-2010

Re: Standalone SRX 210 with AE and vlan tagging problem

Hello R

 

both the configuration are valid, you can use both the methods (however, latter gives the flexibility to include more ports into vlan 'internal") ...

 

about the faulty behaviour of LAG, i think there is some other issue with your configuration, can you post the whole config

 

regards

Hafiz Muhammad Farooq
JNCIE-SEC, JNCIP-SEC, JNCIS-SEC, JNCIS-FWV
JNCIS-SP, JNCIS-SA, JNCIA-JUNOS
RHCE, Oracle Certified Professional

[Please mark it as Accepted Solution if it works, Kudos if you like]

Contributor
rotearc
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎07-10-2010
0

Re: Standalone SRX 210 with AE and vlan tagging problem

Rasmus,

 

Can you explain "latter gives the flexibility to include more ports into vlan"?  I dont follow that?

 

I attached both method1 (ae as routed interface) and method 2 (ae as ethernet switch and l3 interface under vlan).

 

Thanks,

 

R

Recognized Expert
rasmus
Posts: 375
Registered: ‎02-28-2010
0

Re: Standalone SRX 210 with AE and vlan tagging problem

i have seen the configs ...

 

1. both are correct ... did you configure lag on cisco side as well ... i think there is some discrepency in lag ...

 

2. due to which, rstp / stp is causing the behaviour you are experiencing ...

 

3. might be, when you disconnect ge-0/0/0, stp enables other port ge-0/0/1

 

since in both the cases, rstp/stp is the only difference ...

 

note: flexibility i meant, in later case you can put as many ports in vlan internal apart from ae0, conversely you just have a single intf ae0.3

 

regards

Hafiz Muhammad Farooq
JNCIE-SEC, JNCIP-SEC, JNCIS-SEC, JNCIS-FWV
JNCIS-SP, JNCIS-SA, JNCIA-JUNOS
RHCE, Oracle Certified Professional

[Please mark it as Accepted Solution if it works, Kudos if you like]

Contributor
rotearc
Posts: 82
Registered: ‎07-10-2010
0

Re: Standalone SRX 210 with AE and vlan tagging problem

I attached the cisco switch config as well.  The switch is running rpvst+.  

 

thanks for the clarification,  Since the other 6 ports are only 100mbits, i figure why not just ae these two gig interfaces and trunk all the vlans as I need to my cisco switch?

 

R

 

 

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.