SRX

last person joined: 4 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about the SRX Series, vSRX, and cSRX.
Expand all | Collapse all

Trusted network not getting through to untrusted (Internet)

• 1.  Trusted network not getting through to untrusted (Internet)

Posted 08-20-2015 09:33

Hi all,

I'm a complete rookie with SRX devices and I figured I'd refresh my Junos training from almost 6 years ago whilst throwing out my poorly supported Netgear consumer router, so please forgive me for asking any stupid questions.

I've been tearing my hair out with this one as the NAT rules seem to be operating as they should but I can't get my private IP network to talk to the internet world. I've set up my SRX110 for ADSL functionality and that side of it works fine. I confirmed this by pinging from the CLI to the outside world, without issue. I've also successfully SSH'ed into the unit from an external IP as well (using my mobile phone on the carrier's data service).

So I'm convinced the internet side of the SRX110 is working as it should.

Likewise, I'm able to ping to all my devices on the LAN from the CLI as well. So the two halves are OK in their isolated worlds.

So why won't the two play nice with each other? I've compared my configuration to bits and pieces of others out in this forum and other forums alike but I'm completely dumbfounded as to what it could possibly be. For the moment, I'm trying to just attack this piecemeal and establish an unprotected connection for the moment and once that's working, I can then start adding in my destination NAT stuff and/or firewall stuff to lock it all down accordingly. In effect, I'm trying to set it up as per my consumer grade Netgear router with its firewall config and then grow from there once I get a little more enthusiastic.