SRX Services Gateway
Visitor
anders.westerberg@molndal.se

confused about static-arp and proxy-arp in junos 10.2 on SRX 3600 (chassis cluster)

Hi.

I'm pretty new to SRX but I have configured a LOT of different firewalls from different vendors through the years. Compared to other vendors Junipers implementation of proxy-ARP is really confusing. To me Junos version of proxy-arp is really static/published arp and NOT proxy-arp. I will try to explain what I want to do and hope my terminology is understandable.

To me Proxy-arp is a function that dynamically "forwards" arp-requests between two interfaces (simplified explanation), I mainly use it to avoid masking subnets so I wont loose ipaddresses and the result is pretty much a transparent firewall on layer 2. I can not find anyway to use proxy-arp like that in Junos, is it possible?

Example (using public addresses but think of them as private):

We got a private subnet of addresses: 10.1.1.1/24 that I want to split on several different interfaces but I dont want to mask the subnet into smaller ones and route them since I would loose ip's that way and I dont want to be forced to define the arp-table beforehand with static/published arp.

Say we have the default route for that subnet on 10.1.1.254 on an interface called internet and I have two other interfaces called DMZ1 and DMZ2 and I want all of them to use the private subnet. In every other firewall I'v used I would do something like this:

Internet-interface: (bound ipaddress 10.1.1.253/24, default route 10.1.1.254)
DMZ1-interface: (no ip bound) have a client with ipaddress 10.1.1.1/24
DMZ2-interface: (no ip bound) have a client with ipaddress 10.1.1.2/24

Both clients on the DMZ interfaces are configured to use 10.1.1.254 as the default route.

I would then tell the firewall/router to proxy-arp between DMZ1 and Internet, between DMZ2 and Internet and between DMZ1 and DMZ2.