SSL VPN
Reply
New User
caniggia
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎04-27-2011
0

Re: Android Support

Hi,

 

Where's problem,  I see that they can:

 

http://www.androidpit.com/en/android/market/apps/app/com.sonicwall.netextender/NetExtender-Technolog...

 

but with root access, but it's not big deal.

 

Can You run it with root access to have network connect functionality?

 

Greetings

Pawel.

 

Moderator
zanyterp
Posts: 2,270
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0

Re: Android Support

You are correct that with root access it can be done; however, this is not a supported feature and requires a modified device in order to utilize the service. It is not expected that all users would know how, or desire to complete the activity, to root their devices.

 

To answer the other part of your question, no, L3 functionality is not available on a rooted Android through Junos Pulse.

Contributor
nahun
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎09-23-2010
0

Re: Android Support

Juniper could make the Android client like Windows Mobile and have client/server connectivity with SAM, specifically JSAM for Android. This is the way Sonicwall does their Aventail client for Android. It works great.

Contributor
rogierg
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-12-2011
0

Re: Android Support

Interestingly there's an SSH tunnel application in the market which allows you to tunnel certain apps unrooted or the entire system (rooted) through the tunnel available in the market: http://lifehacker.com/5799888/ssh-tunnel-is-the-easiest-way-to-tunnel-on-your-android-device

 

It uses local-port mapping a-la JSAM. For now why not change the Junos Application to do this as well?

 

 

Contributor
ThomasE66
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-07-2010
0

Re: Android Support

[ Edited ]
The latest version of firmware on my Android tablet (Archos 101) supports OpenSSL VPN's. Interesting that they can get that to work but Juniper says they can't get their own SSL-VPN, which is build on OpenSSL, to do the same. EDIT: And no, my device is not rooted.
Juniper Select/Elite Enterprise Solutions Provider - Americas
JNCIA - JUNOS, SSL, IDP
JNCIS - SEC, SSL, ENT
Contributor
KBloomquist
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
0

Re: Andorid Support

According to some recent posts on various forums (including a comment for Junos Pulse in the Android Market), L3 is now available in Junos Pulse for rooted users. I have not had an opportunity to test this yet. No it is not a solution for the typical users but would at least allow some of us to do some testing.

Visitor
rayvd
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-29-2010
0

Re: Andorid Support

[ Edited ]

I now get prompted for root access when I start the application, but unfortunately still don't get an L3 tunnel (Droid 1). "Status" shows that VPN is "Disconnected" even though I can access the Intranet via the built-in browser.  I do have a rooted phone.

 

Bummer!

Contributor
KBloomquist
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
0

Re: Andorid Support

Yeah, I just tried it on my rooted droid incredible and got the same thing. It asked me to allow root access then installed some vpn plugin and prompted me to reboot my phone. Following the reboot I am seeing the same thing as you. Ultimately RDP is what we are after.

Visitor
rayvd
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎10-29-2010
0

Re: Andorid Support

Huh, I wasn't prompted to install a plugin.  I'll tinker with it again, but I'm guessing this is close but no cigar territory.

Contributor
KBloomquist
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎09-24-2010
0

Re: Andorid Support

It flashed quickly so it may be something yours had already done. 

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.