SSL VPN
Reply
Moderator Moderator
Moderator
SVK
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
0

Credential Provider (for Microsoft Windows Only) through Pulse 3.0

[ Edited ]

Junos Pulse 3.0 on Microsoft Windows supports Credential Provider for Windows Vista and Windows 7. It provides a mechanism for establishing a network tunnel upon login to the Windows device, ensuring corporate network connectivity during critical login processes. The Junos Pulse Credential Provider has been implemented as a Pre-Logon Access Provider (PLAP). Junos Pulse provides Credential Provider support for remote SSL VPN access, as well as for Layer 3 Juniper UAC access.

 

 

(Go back to SA 7.2 Features at a Glance - Discuss with Juniper Engineers)

Contributor
RexPGP
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎05-04-2009
0

Re: Credential Provider (for Microsoft Windows Only) through Pulse 3.0

Will Junos pulse cache a new set of credentials? Had issue with NC where only valid credentials would work. I want to use Pulse PLAP to fix password issues remote.

Contributor
RexPGP
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎05-04-2009
0

Re: Credential Provider (for Microsoft Windows Only) through Pulse 3.0

forget it I answered my own question. YES it does. I can cache a entire new ID had to setup pulse on VPN but it works great

Contributor
Toivo
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
0

Re: Credential Provider (for Microsoft Windows Only) through Pulse 3.0

Has anyone else run into trouble with this? I see the tile, the connection is established (see it on the SA, IP assigned etc.) but the Windows login process (Windows 7 Professional) remains in the "Pulse is connecting to X" screen with a cancel button, and never proceeds to actually log the user in. Policy tracing suggests things are going just fine, session created, roles mapped etc.

 

Incidentally, as far as I can tell, the user must select "switch user" to see the Pulse tile. Even if the option to start as part of the login process is selected if the user just uses the Windows default of the previously logged in user, the VPN never triggers. Is there a way to work around that?

Contributor
RexPGP
Posts: 145
Registered: ‎05-04-2009
0

Re: Credential Provider (for Microsoft Windows Only) through Pulse 3.0

second screen is your domain login. Put domain\id then password

Contributor
Toivo
Posts: 55
Registered: ‎01-12-2010
0

Re: Credential Provider (for Microsoft Windows Only) through Pulse 3.0

[ Edited ]

I do. And as said, it doesn't return an error; the input boxes go away, and it just sits there without getting to the desktop.

(Aside from the user confusion factor of having the same prompt for different credentials.)

 

Just to add: The System log, Application log and Security log on the system show no entries at all corresponding to the login attempt. That's windows logging for you, I suppose. They show my previous and subsequent logins using the user tile, rather than the Pulse tile.

 

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.