SSL VPN
Reply
sk
Contributor
sk
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎09-19-2009
0

DHCP - ip address lease question

I'm trying to setup one of my users with an IP reservation (on my win 2k8 dhcp server) but I'm having some difficulties.

 

It seems to be using a long number (not a MAC) that changes every so often as a unique Identifier when obtaining an IP. 

 

Is there any way to keep this number from changing?

 

Thanks

 

sk

Contributor
Kalex
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎06-19-2009
0

Re: DHCP - ip address lease question

[ Edited ]

Hm. Is the client trying to renew an IPv6 address? Oh, and you've probably poste4 in the wrong forum :smileywink:

Regards,
Alex
JNCIA-SSL,FWV,IDP, Security+,Network+,LPIC-1,MCSE:smileyfrustrated:,MCITP:EA
sk
Contributor
sk
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎09-19-2009
0

Re: DHCP - ip address lease question

no, its like the IVE is sending a random long number to my dhcp server as the client's identifier.

 

 

I'm thinking this is an issue with the way the IVE forwards client requests to dhcp servers.  Is there another forum for IVE related questions?

 

 

Contributor
Kalex
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎06-19-2009
0

Re: DHCP - ip address lease question

Hi SK,

you are on the right forum - the first post didn't mention anything juniper IVErelated at all, and I'm a rather simple guy  :smileyhappy:

 

Is the number sent to the DHCP server always different? I'm thinking it could be the initial hostname of the IVE - with DHCP, a client can send it's hostname along with the DHCP request, although I don't think that's the issue  here.

 

Is it possible to capture some packets and attach them to this thread (preferably wireshark / tcpdump captures)?

 

 

Regards,
Alex
JNCIA-SSL,FWV,IDP, Security+,Network+,LPIC-1,MCSE:smileyfrustrated:,MCITP:EA
Moderator
zanyterp
Posts: 2,332
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0

Re: DHCP - ip address lease question

That is correct behavior; the IVE sends a unique number when users connect and it is not possible to keep that number from changing. If you use RADIUS, you can assign IPs using <userAttr.framed-ip-addres> or if you use LDAP you can set a value on the users, add that attribute to the server catalog, and assign IPs using that variable.

 

Moderator Moderator
Moderator
ruc
Posts: 232
Registered: ‎11-06-2007
0

Re: DHCP - ip address lease question

If you are able to configure the DHCP server to lockdown/reserve on specifc IP's based on host name in the request then that may be a workaround as the SA device will send the client hostname for each dhcp request i.e DHCP option 12 - host name

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.