SSL VPN
Reply
ada
Visitor
ada
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-16-2010
0

Host Checker fail to detect Mcafee

 Hi,

I have encountered the issue that Mcafee could not be detected by the ESAP or Host Checker.

The error messages shown in debuglog.log on client PC is bellow.

00158,09 2010/03/18 16:29:56.653 0 ada dsHostChecker.exe EPCheck.dll p2064 tA0C dsAYTPreDef.cpp:309 - '[dsAYTPreDef::AYT()]' ##### Predefined Rule check Failed #####
00231,09 2010/03/18 16:29:56.653 0 ada dsHostChecker.exe EPCheck.dll p2064 tA0C dsEPChecker.cpp:807 - '[CheckAYT() failed]' vc0|2|policy_2|ncafee-v-all::Anti-Virus or Anti-Spyware software listed in security requirements is not installed.


I have an SA700 running 6.5R2, using ESAP version 1.5.9.
I've configured the HC policy to use an antivirus policy,checking for a "Criteria".
The policy looks for *any* supported AV product.

The version of Mcafee on my PC is Mcafee Total protection(v5.0.0. patch4) running Windows vista business Sp1.
 
I checked the products suppoted list by ESAP 1.5.9,but there is no exact name of Mcafee Total protection.
However, I found the following description on the release note by ESAP 1.4.3. on the Internet.


As far as this information,the ESAP 1.5.9 must support Mcafee Total Protection greater 4.7.0 x.

I tested it using other virus software running Windows Xp machine.
and I found that the Host checker have detected Trend Micro Office Scan 10.0.
So, I beleive that my configuration on IVE is correct.

Does anyone know why the ESAP or Host checker fail to detect Mcafee ?

 

Recognized Expert
MattS
Posts: 205
Registered: ‎11-06-2007
0

Re: Host Checker fail to detect Mcafee

The ESAP Release Notes and Supported products are at http://www.juniper.net/techpubs/software/ive/esap/

 

ESAP 1.5.9 supported products is http://www.juniper.net/techpubs/software/ive/esap/releasenotes/ListofProductsSupportedByESAP1.5.9.pd... and lists under Anti-Virus and Anti-Spyware:

 

Total Protection for Small Business (4.7.x)

Total Protection for Small Business (4.x)

Total Protection for Small Business (5.x)

 

 

Is this the product you are using?  If these are failing to be detected as expected it would be best to open a JTAC case so the data can be gathered and OPSWAT contacted to correct the problem.  Are you using a country-specific version?

 

sk
Contributor
sk
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎09-19-2009
0

Re: Host Checker fail to detect Mcafee

I've had a ticket open for several months now on this issue.    ESAP 1.5.4 is that last version that works for us.

 

It seems to only be broken for vista computers...

ada
Visitor
ada
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎03-16-2010
0

Re: Host Checker fail to detect Mcafee

I have using a Mcafee Antivirus(Total protection for small business v5.0) in Japanese version.

I contacted JTAC team about this issue, then 

they already have requested bug information for the product Mcafee Total Protection for small business 5.0  Japanese version.

The fix will be in the next ESAP version 1.5.10.

 

Thank a lot for your advice.

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.