SSL VPN
Reply
Regular Visitor
jyuen
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎03-04-2008
0

IVE 6.1

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

Anyone here already tried 6.1?  The download page shows both 6.1R1.0 and 6.1R2.0 with the same date.  Seem that Juniper is not doing well on version 6.x, there are so many updated release one after another in a short period of time...

 

We already planned for an upgrade to 6.0R3.1, but now it comes 6.1R2.0....

Message Edited by jyuen on 04-10-2008 09:23 PM
Ray
Contributor
Ray
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
0

Re: IVE 6.1

We just got a quote on a new SA-2000 and our sales rep told us to wait for the 6.1 firmware because of a significant price reduction with the bundled software. He said the SAM and NC features as well as the Advanced license will be included free in the 6.1 firmware. The quote put a new SA-2000 at 60% of what we paid barely a year ago.

 

Ray 

ben
Contributor
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎12-06-2007
0

Re: IVE 6.1

Well the only thing for us here is to test 6.1 because auf the SVW Support for vista.

AS my SE told me 6.1R1 is out a while but seemed not hat stable, so I shall wait to 6.1R2.

But I guess till we migratio our production env. to 6.1x it will take a while. We are doing fine with 6.0R4.2 (even if 6.0R.4.2.1 is out, but according to the changelog with one fix for NC...) 

Juniper Employee
etdhaz
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
0

Re: IVE 6.1

Definitly stay at 6.0R3.1 for now.
Trusted Contributor
dcvers
Posts: 171
Registered: ‎11-16-2007
0

Re: IVE 6.1

Has anyone tried installing 6.1R2? I'm trying to upgrade out test appliance (SA-2000) from 6.1R1 but the upload keeps failing after about 2%.

I've confirmed the checksum is okay so the package didn't get corruprted during the download.

 

I've only briefly tested with 6.1R1 so can't give much feedback. There is a bug in Host Checker that prevents limited rights users seeing processes running as SYSTEM that is supposed to be fixed in 6.1R2 (JTAC told me the same bug was also in the 6.0 stream and fixed in a recent release)

ben
Contributor
Posts: 126
Registered: ‎12-06-2007
0

Re: IVE 6.1

Yes, on our SA2000 Testsystem. Upgradeded from 6.0R4.2 and it worked without any problems.

 

Also the SVW on a Vistamachine worked fine,even if it was just a very short test, start SVW and exit :smileywink:

New User
gman
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-11-2008
0

Re: IVE 6.1

We have tried 6.1R2.1 and it ran fine, but we are happy on 6.0R3.1  I had a number of bugs when we went to it but we did jump from 5.3R9 lol 6.0R6 is due out 6/27  I am eager to try that release.  6.0R5, 6.0R4.2.1, 6.1R2.1 all appeared to function the same for our needs
Ray
Contributor
Ray
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
0

Re: IVE 6.1

To muddy things up even more, I see 6.2R1.0 is now available. It seems to have some nice auto-remediation features, such as auto-enabling the XP or Vista firewall when no firewall is detected or downloading more current anti-virus defs.

 

Ray

Contributor
amonte1
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎11-10-2007
0

Re: IVE 6.1

I'm trying to upgrade a box now (sa4000) from 6.1r2 to 6.1r3 and it fails during the upload.

 

Did you ever resolve this issue.

 

Thanks,

Tony

Ray
Contributor
Ray
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎11-12-2007
0

Re: IVE 6.1

I had to IP a laptop with the firmware onto the same subnet as the Juniper box and allow its new IP. Juniper support thought it was yet another TCP autoscaling issue, which is now turned off in 6.1R3. i couldn't upload ESAP files or anything without doing this.

 

Ray

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.