SSL VPN
Reply
Contributor
amullheirn
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
0

Junos Pulse - empty window (Win 7, 64-bit)

Hi -

 

I've got an issue with pulse coming up with a blank window - no option to create a connection at all - just the "logs" and "exit" options under the menu at the top.  This is happening on two Windows 7 64-bit machines.  One is a virtual machine running in VirtualBox, the other is a Lenovo OEM install.

 

On two other machines (fairly fresh OEM installs of Windows 7 64-bit) all is working fine.

 

I've tried the following:

 

1) Remove and reinstall the software (with an intervening reboot)

2) Remove the Juniper registry entries and folders under c:\program files (x86)

3) Remove the service (sc delete in a command prompt)

4) Download the MSI installer for 64-bit and run that (it gets halfway through then rolls back)

5) Various other things I can't remember.

 


Short of throwing the laptop out into the car park and driving over it, does anyone have any bright ideas?

 

Many thanks,


Andrew

Imtech ICT
Regular Visitor
brentrjones
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
0

Re: Junos Pulse - empty window (Win 7, 64-bit)

I have the same issue on a computer right now. Base Win7 64-bit, and the Pulse client is 'empty'.

It won't connect to anything, because you can't add a connection, theres simpy no options.

 

I've similar things as wel, uninstalled, cleaned registry, updated Java, rebooted, this and that.

 

Love to find a solution, I imagine it will happen to other machines on a big deployment, and want a fix for this.

Trusted Contributor
SonicBoom
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎07-06-2009
0

Re: Junos Pulse - empty window (Win 7, 64-bit)

in the junos pulse connections is the option to allow users to create connections checked?

Power On
http://vology.com
Regular Visitor
brentrjones
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎09-28-2010
0

Re: Junos Pulse - empty window (Win 7, 64-bit)

Yah, users can create their own connections, and it works on other machines.

Trying to find out why one machine here simply won't install Pulse correct.

Might have to open a case

Trusted Contributor
SonicBoom
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎07-06-2009
0

Re: Junos Pulse - empty window (Win 7, 64-bit)

if its just one machine its most likely a security setting on that machine, try setting IE security settings to defualt or ensure user is an admin.
Power On
http://vology.com
Contributor
amullheirn
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
0

Re: Junos Pulse - empty window (Win 7, 64-bit)

Hi - it is affecting two machines, unfortunately.  One is Windows 7 64 bit, the other is Windows 7 32 bit.  We've other machines that seem to work fine.

 

The user installing is an admin on the local machine, I've taken the machine off the domain and had the same result, and I've created a new local user - again with the same result.

 

Logged a TAC case a few days ago and eventually had a call with the guy, but unfortunately his only suggestion is to re-image the two machines and try again.  They were quite responsive, but didn't know a lot I think.

 

I've removed AVG anti-virus, disabled Windows Defender, removed all Juniper folders I can find on the disk, and removed all Juniper registry entries.  Also ran the Pulse Cleaner to clean up the machine, but to no avail.

 

In desperation, I'm going to upgrade the SA to 7.1R3 and see if I get a different package downloaded successfully.  Failing that, I will have to re-image the machine, and probably never find out what caused this   :smileysad:

 

Andrew

Imtech ICT
Contributor
amullheirn
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
0

Re: Junos Pulse - empty window (Win 7, 64-bit)

Oh - in reply to SonicBoom, yes, the "allow user to create connections" box is checked - thanks for the suggestion though!

 

Andrew

Imtech ICT
Moderator
zanyterp
Posts: 2,276
Registered: ‎11-19-2007

Re: Junos Pulse - empty window (Win 7, 64-bit)

Is the re-image what ultimately fixed it?

Do you remember, off-hand if you checked, if dsAccessService.exe was running?
I have seen this a few times on my machine (XP) while doing testing when there was a conflict with another component (OAC typically) and was fixed after a remove, clean, and re-install.

 

Does/did the same happen when using the msi install rather than through the browser? 

Contributor
amullheirn
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
0

Re: Junos Pulse - empty window (Win 7, 64-bit)

Hi zanyterp -

 

Thanks for the ideas!

 

When I wave my mouse over the Pulse icon in the system tray, I see a message that says "Pulse: Access service not running".    So I go into the Control Panel and into Services and I see that "Juniper Unified Network Service" (if I remember the name right) is set to automatic startup, but is not running.

 

When I tell JUNS to start up, it starts OK.  I then wave my mouse over the Pulse icon in the sytem tray and it just says "Pulse:  "

 

So that seems to be a part of the issue.  What other machines have is a message saying "Pulse: no connections", but I don't get that.  So I think Pulse must need to read its connections in from somewhere.

 

What is OAC, by the way?  Is that Odyssey?  If so, I have never had that installed, so assume it isn't a part of the issue.

 

Thanks again,

 

A.

Imtech ICT
Contributor
amullheirn
Posts: 15
Registered: ‎06-08-2011
0

Re: Junos Pulse - empty window (Win 7, 64-bit)

@zanyterp:  by the way, the MSI installer doesn't work either.   It starts 'copying files' and then starts 'rolling back action' - it eventually says it was interrupted somehow during the install but doesn't give any details.  I've tried the three most recent MSI installers and they all do the same thing.  I don't know if there's a log file anywhere that says what caused the interruption, but I can't find anything that indicates what the cause was.

 

A.

Imtech ICT
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.