SSL VPN
Reply
Trusted Contributor
smicker
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎01-18-2010
0
Accepted Solution

MAG6611 Cluster Move

Hi All--

 

I need to move our clustered MAG6611 to a new facility and am considering the following to minimize downtime for new connections:

 

1. Shut down node 1, node 2 continues to run

2. Move node 1 and bring on line

3. Shut down node2

4. Move node2 and reconnect to cluster

 

I think this will work, however one caveat is that I need to renumber the internal interface of node 1 at step 2. Will I be able to do this in a degraded cluster state and if so will node 2 rejoin properly at step 4?

 

Thanks,

--Paul

Super Contributor
Kita
Posts: 404
Registered: ‎12-23-2010
0

Re: MAG6611 Cluster Move

Hello Paul,

 

These steps seem okay, but I wanted to clarify if this is a A/P or A/A cluster.  If it's a A/P, you just need to add a step to fail over to the corresponding device.  If it's A/A,  you just need to configure the load balancer to route traffic to one node.

Trusted Contributor
smicker
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎01-18-2010
0

Re: MAG6611 Cluster Move

A/P. Thanks Kita!

Moderator Moderator
Moderator
SVK
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
0

Re: MAG6611 Cluster Move

are you planning to use the same ip on the SA or will you be changing the IP when moving to new facililty?

Trusted Contributor
smicker
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎01-18-2010
0

Re: MAG6611 Cluster Move

The IP will be changing.

Moderator Moderator
Moderator
SVK
Posts: 193
Registered: ‎08-22-2011
0

Re: MAG6611 Cluster Move

If you are planning to change IP on the SA nodes you need to have a maintenance window planned.

You have to break the cluster , change the IP on the nodes and form cluster between the nodes.

Moderator
zanyterp
Posts: 2,274
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0

Re: MAG6611 Cluster Move

As viji pointed out, you will need to break the cluster at some point in the sequence. At step 2 you could remove the cluster on node 1, since it won't be able to communicate with node 2 anyway, and get it set for the new IP of node 2. Then when you move node 2, remove the cluster on it and change the IP when it comes up and join to the "new" cluster.

Always good to have a maintenance window when doing anything like this; but looks like you should be ok with the plan you have to reduce the downtime as much as possible
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.