SSL VPN
Reply
Visitor
Manicou97
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
0

SA cluster upgrade impact on users

We have 2 nodes SA 4500 in a cluster active/active

 

we have a load balancer that sends all requests to node A. If node A is down, requests go to node B

 

we want to upgrage from 7.1 R4 to 7.1 R10

 

if we install the service package, i think the upgrage will be done on one node and after the other node automatically.

 

But, what happens to the users connected to node A?

 

the connection will be closed and they will make a new connection on node B?

or, they will be automatically moved to node B transparently?

 

thanks

Recognized Expert
Kita
Posts: 485
Registered: ‎12-23-2010
0

Re: SA cluster upgrade impact on users

Hello Manicou97,

 

You want to route all traffic to one node ahead of time before upgrading the device.  Any remaining sessions prior to the upgrade will be disconnected and will require them to log back into to the other node.

Visitor
Manicou97
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-21-2011
0

Re: SA cluster upgrade impact on users

Hi, Thanks for the answer. Do I have to disable in the cluster the node to be upgraded? If I push an upgrade on the cluster, I think the system will push it to node A and node B after. My clients will be disconnected. Regards ?ric Bocl?, CISSP
Contributor
mkelly_uwyo
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎02-04-2009
0

Re: SA cluster upgrade impact on users

So the impact to your end users depnds on how the load balancer is configured.

 

User information should be synced between the two active/active sa 4500 boxes.

 

 

So your users will only experience downtime for the time it takes for the load balancer to detect that a node is down and start forwarding traffic to the up node.

 

In my experience most users will not notice.

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.