SSL VPN
Reply
Super Contributor
cryptochrome
Posts: 498
Registered: ‎03-29-2008
0

Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Hi there,

 

is there a way to set the terminal window colors for SSH/Telnet sessions? This seems to be a requirement by one of my customers, but I want to avoid using NC/SAM.

 

Thanks

Twitter: @cryptochrome
--------------------------------
plus.google.com/11635909860
Trusted Contributor
ChristopherHowarth
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎11-30-2007
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

I am sorry, this is not currently possible.
Regards,

Christopher Howarth CISSP RHCE JNCIS-FWV JNCIA-WX/SSL
Regular Visitor
IVELuvah
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Is it possible to install your own .jar file for the SSH/Telnet applet?  I found a nice client called Mindterm that give you the "normal" options you'd expect from a SSH/Telnet client.  The built-in one is lousy.


Thanks.

Distinguished Expert
muttbarker
Posts: 2,377
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Mindterm is quite nice - you can install your own Java applets for just about anything. Term Services, FTP, SSH -
Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Regular Visitor
IVELuvah
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

I'm not seeing where to associate the applet to the SSH profile.  I've seen where you can upload an applet for term server profiles, but not for ssh/telnet.

 

Thanks!

Distinguished Expert
muttbarker
Posts: 2,377
Registered: ‎01-29-2008

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Can't add a Telnet/SSH Java applet as part of the "telnet/ssh" section.

 

Just go under Resource Profiles / Web - New Profile - Type = hosted Java applet. Upload the applet - then under bookmark you will need to generate some html code which the Admin GUI will do (partially). Edit it for applet name.

 

 

Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Contributor
bimmerite
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

I'm setting up my SA4500 for the first time and the telnet/ssh java app included is horrible.  It keeps crashing whenever I try to use vim in the console.  Have you gotten Mindterm to work?  I'd love to know how well that went.

 

Matt

____________________________
Matt Ausmus
Network Administrator
Chapman University

“Man will occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of the time he will pick himself up and continue on.”
- Churchill’s Commentary on Man
Distinguished Expert
muttbarker
Posts: 2,377
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

I do the MindTerm Java applet up and running as one of my option services for resource access and it works fine.
Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Contributor
bimmerite
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
0

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Thanks for the reply.  I've gone through the documentation on uploading a java app and it seems pretty straight forward.  Anything hinky or anything that I need to keep in mind when uploading this app or using it?

 

Matt

____________________________
Matt Ausmus
Network Administrator
Chapman University

“Man will occasionally stumble over the truth, but most of the time he will pick himself up and continue on.”
- Churchill’s Commentary on Man
Distinguished Expert
muttbarker
Posts: 2,377
Registered: ‎01-29-2008

Re: Set SSH/Telnet console colors?

Not that I recall - give it a shot and give a yell if you run into anything funky. I am on the road today but could post my html to you on the weekend if you would like.
Kevin Barker
JNCIP-SEC
JNCIS-ENT, FWV, SSL, WLAN
JNCIA-ER, EX, IDP, UAC, WX
Juniper Networks Certified Instructor
Juniper Networks Ambassador

Juniper Elite Reseller
J-Partner Service Specialist - Implementation

If this worked for you please flag my post as an "Accepted Solution" so others can benefit. A kudo would be cool if you think I earned it.
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.