SSL VPN
Reply
Contributor
miked
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎11-05-2007
0

Shoretel Softphone @ Network Connect

Just wondering if anyone uses both NC and Shoretel Softphone?  We seem to have an issue where the softphone, at random times, for no apparent reasons, will just drop, there is no rhyme or rhythm to when it drops, could be 5 minutes, could be 2 hours just drops.  We had our shoretel gold partner look at it and they can't see any logs on the shoretel side that point to anything.  Its done this through various versions of Shoretel upgrades as well.

 

Our environment is we have the shoretel system on its own subnet with all firewall ports open per the documentation, yes I tripplechecked the ports to make sure we didn't miss any (its basically everything anyhow)  Yes we have ToS checked on the NC client- doesn't appear to make a difference in either direction with that. 

 

The only thing we can think of is if latency gets to a certain point, the phone drops- although the NC VPN never does.

 

Anyone have any thoughts?  Thanks in advance.

Mike
Trusted Contributor
SonicBoom
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎07-06-2009
0

Re: Shoretel Softphone @ Network Connect

[ Edited ]

NC is staying connected and the shoretel phone disconnects? is it various users or just one ? my shoretel engineer said they use the softphone with Junos pulse with no issues, can you test using Pulse? this would help isolate the issue to NC, also try running a constant ping to the shoretel box to see if the ping climbs right before it drops.

Power On
http://vology.com
Contributor
miked
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎11-05-2007
0

Re: Shoretel Softphone @ Network Connect

Thanks for the reply, NC stays connected the entire time.  Multiple users, although we only have it deployed in this fashion to 3 users due to this issue.

Mike
Trusted Contributor
SonicBoom
Posts: 195
Registered: ‎07-06-2009
0

Re: Shoretel Softphone @ Network Connect

i have seen much more success using Junos pulse over NC, can you make a test profile and enable pulse on to see its outcome?

Jaime
Power On
http://vology.com
Moderator
zanyterp
Posts: 2,276
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0

Re: Shoretel Softphone @ Network Connect

are you using ESP (good idea) or SSL for your transport mechanism (our general experience is that VoIP works best with ESP)? is compression disabled?

Contributor
miked
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎11-05-2007
0

Re: Shoretel Softphone @ Network Connect

Thanks zanyterp, ESP is enabled as the default with fallback to SSL, and compression is disabled.

Mike
Contributor
miked
Posts: 59
Registered: ‎11-05-2007
0

Re: Shoretel Softphone @ Network Connect

Thanks Sonicboom, we are going to setup pulse on our lab unit to see if it performs any better.

Mike
Moderator
zanyterp
Posts: 2,276
Registered: ‎11-19-2007
0

Re: Shoretel Softphone @ Network Connect

Does the ShoreTel server require unique BMAC addressing for the clients? If yes, that could be a problem as each client generates its own MAC at launch.

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.