SSL VPN
Reply
Visitor
JeffL
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
0

WSAM, Windows Mobile and WIFI

Running R6.2. WSAM runs fine via cellular data connection for ActiveSync and other apps. However, if the Mobile unit has WIFI and the user connects to the inside network using that, the ActiveSync fails and does not start again until the WIFI session is dropped and user is back using the cellular data. We are looking to get this working seamlessly, meaning not having to start and stop WSAM when the user connects WIFI to the inside network.
Recognized Expert
kenlars
Posts: 420
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
0

Re: WSAM, Windows Mobile and WIFI

Is it possible that the routing table on the PDA changes so that its default gateway becomes a router on the inside network?  If so, WSAM would no longer have a route to the external interface of the SA. 
Visitor
JeffL
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
0

Re: WSAM, Windows Mobile and WIFI

Yes, that would be changed as that is the nature of WIFI, that you would get a new IP address and a new default route. However, the internal network does have a route to that same external interface using the same domain name. I have verified that with a traceroute on my WM6 phone. I believe that the issue is that WSAM doesn't have the smarts to know that if it is up and running but the "system" is on the local network, that it should be ignoring all traffic and letting things go straight through without it intercepting. I haven't opened a ticket with support yet as I wanted to see if anyone else had experienced this issue when they were trying to set up a seamless connection for using WSAM as the ActiveSync conduit.
Recognized Expert
kenlars
Posts: 420
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
0

Re: WSAM, Windows Mobile and WIFI

Do you have WSAM configured based on the application or based on the destination server?
Visitor
JeffL
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
0

Re: WSAM, Windows Mobile and WIFI

Have the application defined but also have the full internal network defined in the WSAM allowed servers
Recognized Expert
kenlars
Posts: 420
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
0

Re: WSAM, Windows Mobile and WIFI

This is sort of a stab in the dark, but I'm wondering if WSAM is getting confused because you have the entire internal network as WSAM allowed servers.  I'd recommend you try two scenarios -

(1) Have no WSAM allowed servers and let the application definition suffice

(2) Have only the name of the server(s) to which Activesync communicates in the WSAM allowed server list.

 

I'm wondering whether WSAM has a problem with the fact that the (internal) DNS server used when you are connected to the local network is within its allowed server list, and finds it can't resolve the name of the external interface of the SA.  Maybe there is something else going on, but it would seem to me that having the application name defined to WSAM and leaving the allowed server list empty would be sufficient.

Visitor
JeffL
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-26-2008
0

Re: WSAM, Windows Mobile and WIFI

After you did your last post, I was wondering about that some kind of "confusion". I'll try the different settings and see what happens. I'll update this with the results which will probably be tomorrow, 8/27. Thanks!
Contributor
Dan_Smart
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎07-17-2008
0

Re: WSAM, Windows Mobile and WIFI

I've be testing 6.2r1.  This is a very buggy release.  I'd suggest testing with 6.1 first.  Note that doing an XML dump is broken, so don't depend on this to downgrade.  Also note if you do a rollback you loose any configs you made in 6.2 (learned all this the hard way).

 

JTAC said the 6.2r2 (or 3 or whatever)  was coming soon, so if you can hold on, your results may improve.

 

-=Dan=-

Contributor
DanSmart
Posts: 108
Registered: ‎01-21-2008
0

Re: WSAM, Windows Mobile and WIFI

My SE got me the link for the private release of 6.2r2.  I'd highly suggest working with this release and not 6.2r1.
-=Dan=-
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.