Screen OS

last person joined: 8 months ago 

This is a legacy community with limited Juniper monitoring.
  • 1.  Best Practices - SSG5 setup and loggin

Posted 05-01-2011 06:03

I am pretty new with the SSG series and Juniper and general, but I have setup a SSG% and it works now with NAT and firewall rules. But I am looking for some best practise setup, shich I have not found yet.

More spesific, I wonder about the logging part. As I understand, the SSG itself don't have much memory, so I need a syslog server if I am right? But in my mind, I should be able to see at least the last traffic log, but I am not sure how to put it up.

For example: in the policy From Untrus to Trust, I have created rules to allow incoming HTTP/SMTP etc. And then the last rule I have created, is set to block everything. But I don't see anything of the traffic that is beeing blocked, I only see the traffic that is allowed. I guess I should be seeing at least some incoming junk traffic, like port scan etc.

And for system related logs (like login attempts to the SSG from the outside, alerts and so on), I guess I need a syslog server, only having the latest entries on the SSG it self.

#logging
    #SSG5

• 2.  RE: Best Practices - SSG5 setup and loggin

Posted 05-01-2011 08:04

Local logging is limited in size and will automatically make sure you don't fill the available space.  You can increase local logging by adding a USB drive or memory stick to the SSG USB port.  I have a configuration posted for this process in the Configuration Library forum.

http://forums.juniper.net/t5/Configuration-Library/ScreenOS-Configure-Logging-to-USB-Device/m-p/64641#M164