ScreenOS Firewalls (NOT SRX)
Reply
Contributor
Nevermore
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
0
Accepted Solution

Bridge Mode Connection problem

[ Edited ]

Hi, 

 

I am using 3 adsl lines on bridge mode. 1 adsl line is failed working on bridge mode. The line has connection I tested adsl router in router mode. It was working in bridge mode but it disconnected yesterday and not connecting again now. Every configuration is right but my ssg-5 don't connecting now.

 

 

I have this log.

Point-to-Point Protocol over Ethernet (PPPoE) connection failed to establish a session. Timeout PADI

 

 I use 5.4.0.r9. Why this disconnected when it is working? Thanks

 

P.s.: Adsl Rouer is Zyxel 661 Hw. I am using this problems often in zyxel.

Message Edited by Nevermore on 04-24-2008 12:33 AM
MCP - MCSA+S - MCSE+S
MCTS: Vista
Contributor
Nevermore
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
0

Re: Bridge Mode Connection problem

I ordered  a new adsl router.

 

Thanks

MCP - MCSA+S - MCSE+S
MCTS: Vista
Contributor
Nevermore
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
0

Re: Bridge Mode Connection problem

Hi,

 

Bridge Mode is working on my interface 0/5 now but  It is not working on 0/0 and 0/2 interfaces. What cause this problem? Is tehre a config left on these interfaces?

 

Thanks 

MCP - MCSA+S - MCSE+S
MCTS: Vista
Recognized Expert
PentinProcessor
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎11-06-2007
0

Re: Bridge Mode Connection problem

Can you clarify what you mean by "it's not working on eth0/0 and eth0/2"?
What is your ultimate goal?

Can you include this part of your config:
get config | inc interface
get config | inc adsl

FYI: This is a good thread on bridge groups:
http://forums.juniper.net/jnet/board/message?board.id=Firewalls&message.id=163&query.id=1355#M163

--Josine

 

Contributor
Nevermore
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
0

Re: Bridge Mode Connection problem

Hi Josine,

 

If I start the problem from the beginning:

 

I have 3 adsl lines working on bridge mode. 1 line has disconnected (interface 0/2) suddenly and giving Timeout PADI error. I reset the interface settings to null and tried to reconnect to it again  and same PADI error I recieved. I changed to interface 0/0 and retried everything (Reseting zone to null) and same PADI error I recieved. Then I thought that it was caused the bridge router and baught a new one. When I tried to reconnect that the new adsl router on the bridge mode same things happened. Then I tried the port 0/5 which was I never used  before and it connected succesfully and working succesfull now. But if I connect to interfaces 0/0 and 0/2 on bridge mode I am recieving PADI error.  Here is the configs for you:

 

set interface "ethernet0/0" zone "Null"

set interface "ethernet0/1" zone "Untrust"

set interface "ethernet0/4" zone "Untrust"

set interface "ethernet0/5" zone "Untrust"

set interface "bgroup0" zone "Trust"

set interface "bgroup1" zone "DMZ"

set interface "bgroup2" zone "Trust"

set interface bgroup0 port ethernet0/3

set interface bgroup1 port ethernet0/6

unset interface vlan1 ip

set interface ethernet0/1 ip 88.xx.xx.xx/32

set interface ethernet0/1 route

set interface ethernet0/4 ip 88.xx.xx.xx/32

set interface ethernet0/4 route

set interface ethernet0/5 ip 88.xx.xx.xx/32

set interface ethernet0/5 route

set interface bgroup0 ip 192.168.1.254/24

set interface bgroup0 nat

set interface bgroup1 ip 192.168.3.254/24

set interface bgroup1 route

unset interface vlan1 bypass-others-ipsec

unset interface vlan1 bypass-non-ip

set interface ethernet0/1 ip manageable

set interface ethernet0/4 ip manageable

set interface ethernet0/5 ip manageable

set interface bgroup0 ip manageable

set interface bgroup1 ip manageable

set interface ethernet0/4 manage ssh

set interface ethernet0/4 manage ssl

set interface ethernet0/4 manage web

set interface ethernet0/5 manage ssh

set interface ethernet0/5 manage ssl

set interface ethernet0/5 manage web

unset interface bgroup0 manage telnet

unset interface bgroup0 manage snmp

unset interface bgroup0 manage web

set interface bgroup0 manage mtrace

unset interface bgroup2 manage ping

unset interface bgroup2 manage ssh

unset interface bgroup2 manage telnet

unset interface bgroup2 manage snmp

unset interface bgroup2 manage ssl

unset interface bgroup2 manage web

set interface bgroup2 dhcp client enable

unset interface bgroup2 dhcp client settings update-dhcpserver

set interface "ethernet0/4" mip 88.xx.xx.xxhost 192.168.1.1 netmask 255.255.255.255 vr "trust-vr"

set interface "serial0/0" modem settings "USR" init "AT&F"

set interface "serial0/0" modem settings "USR" active

set interface "serial0/0" modem speed 115200

set interface "serial0/0" modem retry 3

set interface "serial0/0" modem interval 10

set interface "serial0/0" modem idle-time 10

set l2tp "Vpn2" id 2 outgoing-interface ethernet0/4 keepalive 60

set pppoe name "eth0/0" interface ethernet0/4

set pppoe name "isp3" interface ethernet0/5

set pppoe name "isp2" interface ethernet0/1

set route 192.168.3.0/24 interface bgroup1 preference 20

set route 0.0.0.0/0 interface ethernet0/4

set route 0.0.0.0/0 interface ethernet0/5 metric 2

set route source 192.168.1.10/32 interface ethernet0/1

set route source 192.168.1.0/24 interface ethernet0/1 metric 3

 

MCP - MCSA+S - MCSE+S
MCTS: Vista
Recognized Expert
PentinProcessor
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎11-06-2007
0

Re: Bridge Mode Connection problem

Thank you for clarifying.  

If your event log has not been overwritten, can you run the command 'get event inc adsl'?  Are the events during the problematic time still there?   If so, do you see a clue to the problem there?

 

 

If you want to troubleshoot on eth0/0 or eth0/2 again, can you capture the following after you move the line:

 

undebug all     (turn off any debugs)

get pppoe all

debug pppoe basic

exec pppoe name (name) disc

clear db         (clear debug buffer)

exec pppoe name (name) con

undebug all        (stop debugs)

get db stream     (view debug buffer)

 

get event inc adsl

get adsl basic

get adsl stat

 

 

You can do this for the working and non-working condition and compare the debug buffer.  That should give the clue.  

Let us know how that goes.

--Josine 

 

 

Contributor
Nevermore
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
0

Re: Bridge Mode Connection problem

Thanks for your reply. I will degug toomorrow and let you know
MCP - MCSA+S - MCSE+S
MCTS: Vista
Contributor
Nevermore
Posts: 68
Registered: ‎03-24-2008
0

Re: Bridge Mode Connection problem

Hi Josine,

 

I run the debugging on the interface 0/5 1st and then I plugged to interface 0/0 and it connected succesfull :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks for your helps.

 

 

MCP - MCSA+S - MCSE+S
MCTS: Vista
Recognized Expert
PentinProcessor
Posts: 258
Registered: ‎11-06-2007
0

Re: Bridge Mode Connection problem

Thank you for the update.

Running the debugs should not have corrected the problem.  Perhaps the 'exec pppoe disconnect' and 'exec pppoe connect' as part of the steps reset something? 

If the problem happens again, at least you'll have a working set of debugs to compare it to.

--Josine 

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.