Screen OS

last person joined: 8 months ago 

This is a legacy community with limited Juniper monitoring.
  • 1.  Cannot ping interfaces

Posted 04-14-2011 13:47

Hello,

I'm a newbie when it comes to firewall interfacing and routes, so forgive the simplicity/vagueness of this question. I'm also using a SSG-140 running 5.4.0r3a.0.

I have two PC's each connected to an interface (one to eth0/2 and one to eth0/9). Each interface has an IP in seperate subnets, each PC is within it's interface subnet. Both interfaces are set to route and both have "Manageable" unchecked and no "Manage IP". The ping service is enabled. When I try to ping the interface IP from it's corresponding PC I get a "Request time out". I've tried about every configuration I can think of and the only way I can get it to ping the interface is if I set the "Manage IP" to something within the IP range for the interface and ping that address. Is there a way to just ping the interface IP or does it have to have a "Manage IP"?

I know this a pretty simple question, but in the bigger scheme of things my goal is to set a policy between the two interfaces to allow one-way SMB and ICMP-Any. I tried setting the policy first and started with pinging the destination IP but no luck. That's when I started back tracking my pinging and discovered what's listed above.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

-Bryan

• 2.  RE: Cannot ping interfaces

Posted 04-14-2011 14:00

You need to have "manageable" enabled for the interface, and then you select which management services you want to allow, in your case, you'd have "ping" enabled.

• 3.  RE: Cannot ping interfaces

Posted 04-14-2011 14:05

I tried that as well and it didn't work. It made my "Manage IP" address the same as my interface address and put a star after "Manage IP". I've had the ping service enabled since the beginning.

• 4.  RE: Cannot ping interfaces

Posted 04-14-2011 14:30