Screen OS

last person joined: 8 months ago 

This is a legacy community with limited Juniper monitoring.
  • 1.  Configuring SSG-5-SH with Comcast Cable

Posted 03-04-2010 14:00

Hi,

I am totally new to firewall and Juniper world. I have got a Juniper SSG from my company to practice and learn about it, Just wonder how to configure it with comcast cable at home so i could get it running. I have been working and googling for past one week but no luck.

Very basic configuration that i could do.

Eth0/0 Untrusted - Comcast modem and DHCP IP.

Eth0/2-6 Trusted to connect it to a switch and get my pc and other devices running.

Policies,

trusted any any to untrusted

untrusted any any to trusted ( I know it opens everything but just to get running )

Please as i just want to know the very basic configuration and then i will work the rest out.

Thank you

NetworkGeek

• 2.  RE: Configuring SSG-5-SH with Comcast Cable

Posted 03-04-2010 15:59

Dear Juniper Masters,

Need your help please!

Thank you in advance.

• 3.  RE: Configuring SSG-5-SH with Comcast Cable
    Best Answer

Posted 03-06-2010 04:57

Welcome to Juniper firewalls.  I made the transition from managing Sonicwall networks to Juniper about a year ago now.  I love the platform for the flexibility and managability it is giving the network I manage.  But the price for that was a completely different model of configuration and a level of complexity that allows the flexibility.

In your situation I would start with the basic suggested load outlined in the Getting Started Guide.

Getting Started

This creates a basic DMZ and Trust zone behind the firewall and allows you to experiment with the basic features.

Before you get started, check your software downloads area.  Get in the habit of looking at the JTAC recommended release of ScreenOS version for your model.  And then update the device to this release.   This is on the Configuration--Update--ScreenOS tab in the web interface.