ScreenOS Firewalls (NOT SRX)
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Highlighted
Contributor
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎08-07-2010
0 Kudos

Forgot Logging password to netscreen 5XT

[ Edited ]

Hi all,

 

how to loggin to netrscren 5XT devices as my client forgot the password  to login and the physical reset is also disabled.

Please suggest the best idea that helps to resolve the problem of logging. I had already tried by inserting the serial number in login name  and password, but could not login to  the devices.

Distinguished Expert
Posts: 4,121
Registered: ‎03-30-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Logging to netscreen 5XT

There are two methods for reset and both can be disabled in the configuration if desired.  One important cavaeat on your serial number login reset is that you need to be connected using the serial console cable.  These are the only two ways to accomplish the reset.

 

How to reset screenOS firewalls
http://kb.juniper.net/InfoCenter/index?page=content&id=KB5046

 

Steve Puluka BSEET
Juniper Ambassador
Senior IP Engineer - DQE Communications Pittsburgh, PA
JNCIA-ER JNCIA-EX JNCIS-SEC JNCIP-SEC JNCSP-SEC
JNCIS-FWV JNCIS-SSL JNCDA
JNCIS-SP
ACE PanOS 6
MCP - Managing Server 2003 MCP - Windows XP Professional
MCTS Windows 7
http://puluka.com/home
Contributor
Posts: 224
Registered: ‎08-07-2010
0 Kudos

Re: Logging to Netscreen 5XT

[ Edited ]

 

When I tried using serial number in login name and password, I got message "No modem detected, can not failover "

 

is there any idea using like in Cisco or not ?


spuluka wrote:

There are two methods for reset and both can be disabled in the configuration if desired.  One important cavaeat on your serial number login reset is that you need to be connected using the serial console cable.  These are the only two ways to accomplish the reset.

 

How to reset screenOS firewalls
http://kb.juniper.net/InfoCenter/index?page=content&id=KB5046

 


 

Distinguished Expert
Posts: 4,121
Registered: ‎03-30-2009
0 Kudos

Re: Logging to Netscreen 5XT

The second method as noted in the kb5046 above is using hardware reset button.  This procedure is detailed in kb4749.

 

http://kb.juniper.net/InfoCenter/index?page=content&id=KB4749

 

The message you got makes me wonder if this was an NSRP dual firewall pair.  If so there is a special procedure for resetting this device outlined in kb4899

 

http://kb.juniper.net/InfoCenter/index?page=content&id=KB4899

Steve Puluka BSEET
Juniper Ambassador
Senior IP Engineer - DQE Communications Pittsburgh, PA
JNCIA-ER JNCIA-EX JNCIS-SEC JNCIP-SEC JNCSP-SEC
JNCIS-FWV JNCIS-SSL JNCDA
JNCIS-SP
ACE PanOS 6
MCP - Managing Server 2003 MCP - Windows XP Professional
MCTS Windows 7
http://puluka.com/home