ScreenOS Firewalls (NOT SRX)
Visitor
BenjaminProg

In line setup

First of all i should start by saying that i have little to no experience with Juniper firewall orany other firewall for that matter.

I was given the taskto setup a Juniper NS-G5 at a co-workers home, who will be working from home and willrequire to have VOIP.

Currently  the setup is suppose to go from the VirizonnDSL --> NG-G5--> Work Station but i have never been able to establishinternet connection, and that's all i need, if someone can help me setup and establishinternet connection, i would be forever grateful.

Thanks 

Trusted Expert
Kashif-rana

Re: In line setup

Hi,

kindly explain ur topology or scenario more

Thanks

Kashif Rana
JNCIE-SEC, JNCIE-ENT, JNCIE-SP, JNCIS(FWV,SSL),JNCIA(IDP,AC,WX),BIG IP-F5-LTM, CCNP
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If this post was helpful, please mark this post as an "Accepted Solution".Kudos are always appreciated!
Contributor
cmcdaniel

Ben -

First of all we need to know what type of DSL connection you have (bridged, PPPoE, PPPoA)?  This will dictate the type of configuration needed.  If I'm not mistaken, the NS-5GT or SSG-5 units come out of the box with E0/0 as the untrusted (outside) interface and E0/2-0/6 in the trusted (inside) bridge group 0.  This means that any port from 2-6 can be used for workstations.  So in theory, you should connect the DSL modem to E0/0 and the workstation to E0/2.  The default IP address for the NS/SSG should be 192.168.1.1 (perhaps 0.1), and it should answer via HTTP.  If this unit has never been configured, a "wizard" screen will be presented to you.  Follow the prompts and you should be on the Web.  Now as for the VoIP and VPN configuration, we need to know more information.

Chris McDaniel
JNCIA FW/VPN
Visitor
BenjaminProg