ScreenOS Firewalls (NOT SRX)
Reply
New User
BLHONG
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
0

Netscreen SSG320M firewall ( ISP redanduncy )

Dear friend,

 

 

As you know, we are using Netscreen SSG320M firewall.

 

We are in the middle of revamping our network.

 

1. Can our current SSG320M support more than one broadband line?

2. If yes, is there any additional module need to be purchased?

3. If we combined 2 1Mbps ADSL lines, can we have below option

     a. Both line active so that we can get 2Mbps speed

     b. Automatically switch to other line if the other line is down

 

4. What will be the ultimate speed after combining two 1Mbps ADSL line 5.

 

 

Can it be configure the above requirement........?

 

 

 

 

TQ.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Contributor
dviloria
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
0

Re: Netscreen SSG320M firewall ( ISP redanduncy )

1. Can our current SSG320M support more than one broadband line?

 Yes, you can configure more than 1 link.

2. If yes, is there any additional module need to be purchased?

 Depends, you'll need an aditional WAN/ADSL module if you want to have the modem on the firewall or if your ISP provides the modem with the link.

3. If we combined 2 1Mbps ADSL lines, can we have below option

     a. Both line active so that we can get 2Mbps speed

     b. Automatically switch to other line if the other line is down

 a) Yes. You can use both links at the same time, by configuring PBRs you can decide what traffic goes to which link or you can configure ICMP to distribute the traffic per packet 50-50.

b) Yes, this is made by configuring a track-ip or monitoring the interface so in the case of failure you can switch the traffic to the other link.

 

4. What will be the ultimate speed after combining two 1Mbps ADSL line 5.

 well, this is relative to the contract with yor ISP and the method that you decide to balance the traffic, in the best case i guess 2M

All of this can be configured on the SSG-320M

Regards.

New User
BLHONG
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-16-2009
0

Re: Netscreen SSG320M firewall ( ISP redanduncy )

Dear Friend,

 

 

 

Since the FW can do all those thing, do u have the example configuration setup PDF file for me to setup.....?

 

 

 

TQ.

Contributor
dviloria
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎06-27-2008
0

Re: Netscreen SSG320M firewall ( ISP redanduncy )

Sorry but I haven't any examples to provide. I've configured this several times but never saved a copy from this configurations.

 

Regards.

Trusted Expert
Kashif-rana
Posts: 417
Registered: ‎01-29-2008

Re: Netscreen SSG320M firewall ( ISP redanduncy )

Hi friend,

 

Refer to below threads:

 

http://forums.juniper.net/jnet/board/message?board.id=Firewalls&message.id=821&query.id=707336#M821
http://forums.juniper.net/jnet/board/message?board.id=Firewalls&message.id=915&query.id=707336#M915

 

Hope this helps

 

Kashif Rana
JNCIE-SEC, JNCIE-ENT, JNCIE-SP, JNCIS(FWV,SSL),JNCIA(IDP,AC,WX),BIG IP-F5-LTM, CCNP
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

If this post was helpful, please mark this post as an "Accepted Solution".Kudos are always appreciated!
Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.