Screen OS

last person joined: 8 months ago 

This is a legacy community with limited Juniper monitoring.
  • 1.  Remote Desktop to SBS 2003 R2 through NS5GT ScreenOS 5.4.0r15.0

Posted 04-12-2010 21:06

Hi,

I am new to the Netscreen and am finding it very confusing to configure what should be pretty basic functions.  All I want to do is enable Remote Desktop (3389) from any external source to a Small Business Server on the trusted interface.

Initially I attempted to set up a PPTP VPN pass through to the SBS 2k3 box, only to discover that this proved to be virtually impossible with the lack of clear information available on the net and gave up in frustration.  I then attempted to get a L2TP VPN connection to work from a Windows XP PC to the NS5GT, this also didnt work ... even when I attempted to use the NS Remote Client.  So I have given up on VPN's.

Most of the syntax I have come across in my research is not recognized in the CLI for ScreenOS 5.4 and there appears to be several different ways to accomplish the same thing.

Can someone please point me to a KB that has some clear step-by-step instructions on setting this up?

I have looked at many and they all end up taking you to another one to perform something else, then I discover that the CLI syntax I am meant to enter does not work (i.e. set interface ethernet0/0 is not recognized).

http://kb.juniper.net/index?page=content&id=KB11909 --> http://kb.juniper.net/KB11910 --> http://kb.juniper.net/KB12631 (these do not work, CLI syntax not recognized)

So can someone please provide clear instructions on how to get traffic through the Netscreen 5GT to the server for a simple Windows Remote Desktop Connection on fixed port 3389.

I work on Watchguard Firewalls all the time and these just seem a lot more straight forward to setup and configure than the Netscreen.  I dont think this should be the case and perhaps I am just not familiar with the layout and the workings of the device.

Thanks for reading.

LJ