ScreenOS Firewalls (NOT SRX)
Reply
Visitor
whereisv
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-05-2008
0
Accepted Solution

SSG5 - RDP

Hi

 

Am quite new to the SSG5 product. Simple configuration, where we have the firewall connected to the DSL modem over PPoE.

Internet works from within the organisation,  however we cant get remote desktop working. This is important however I cant see where we are going wrong. Is there a kb or process regarding RDP connectivity?

Trusted Expert
AndyC
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎07-08-2008
0

Re: SSG5 - RDP

Hi,

 

Are you looking to allow RDP out from the internal network to something out on the internet. Or do you mean you want to allow RDP from the internet to some internal servers???

 

Regards

 

Andy

JNCIS-FWV
JNCIA-WX
JNCIA-SSL
JNCIA-ER
Visitor
whereisv
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-05-2008
0

Re: SSG5 - RDP

Hi Andy,

 

We want to allow RDP from the internet to some internal servers.

 

Many Thanks

Trusted Expert
AndyC
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎07-08-2008

Re: SSG5 - RDP

Hi,

 

Because you want to make an internal server public you need to use a MIP or a VIP. I will explain a VIP

 

create a VIP on the internet interface you can either create it for the same IP as the interface IP or give it its own IP, depends how many free address your have from your ISP.

 

1) I cant remember if RDP is already a predefined service on the firewall. If it isnt then you will need to create a cutomer service for RDP before creating the VIP, this can be done under policy elements.

 

2) Once the service is added create the VIP on the internet interface.

 

Network > Interfaces > Edit (internet interface) > VIP: Enter the following

address, then click Add:

Virtual IP Address: select same as interface IP (or another public IP you have free)

Network > Interfaces > Edit (internet interface) > VIP > New VIP Service: Enter

the following, then click OK:

Virtual IP: 1.1.1.1

Virtual Port: 3389

Map to Service: RDP (3389)

Map to IP: 192.168.1.10 (internal server you want to make public)

 

3) Create the Policy for access.

 

Policies > (From: Untrust, To: Trust) New: Enter the following, then click OK:

Source Address:

Address Book Entry: (select), ANY

Destination Address:

Address Book Entry: (select), VIP(1.1.1.1)

Service: RDP

Action: Permit

 

 

For more infomation on VIPs and cutom services you can have a look in the manual http://www.juniper.net/techpubs/software/screenos/

 

Hope this helps

 

Regards

 

Andy

JNCIS-FWV
JNCIA-WX
JNCIA-SSL
JNCIA-ER
Visitor
whereisv
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-05-2008
0

Re: SSG5 - RDP

[ Edited ]

Hi Andy,

 

First of all, Thanks for you instant reply. I have tried configuring VIP as you have mentioned (Customised service is created for RDP as well). It seems that there is no Luck.

I have also entered the command "set vip multi-port" 

I have tried configuring MIP as well.

None of them seems to be working.

I have posted my config file below. Just wondering, anything wrong with configuration?

 

Many Thanks

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

 

set clock timezone 0
set vrouter trust-vr sharable
set vrouter "untrust-vr"
exit
set vrouter "trust-vr"
unset auto-route-export
exit
set service "RDP" protocol tcp src-port 3389-3389 dst-port 3389-3389
set auth-server "Local" id 0
set auth-server "Local" server-name "Local"
set auth default auth server "Local"
set auth radius accounting port 1646
set admin name "USERNAME"
set admin password "PASSWORD"
set admin auth timeout 10
set admin auth server "Local"
set admin format dos
set vip multi-port
set zone "Trust" vrouter "trust-vr"
set zone "Untrust" vrouter "trust-vr"
set zone "DMZ" vrouter "trust-vr"
set zone "VLAN" vrouter "trust-vr"
set zone "Untrust-Tun" vrouter "trust-vr"
set zone "Trust" tcp-rst
set zone "Untrust" block
unset zone "Untrust" tcp-rst
set zone "DMZ" tcp-rst
set zone "VLAN" block
unset zone "VLAN" tcp-rst
set zone "Untrust" screen tear-drop
set zone "Untrust" screen syn-flood
set zone "Untrust" screen ping-death
set zone "Untrust" screen ip-filter-src
set zone "Untrust" screen land
set zone "V1-Untrust" screen tear-drop
set zone "V1-Untrust" screen syn-flood
set zone "V1-Untrust" screen ping-death
set zone "V1-Untrust" screen ip-filter-src
set zone "V1-Untrust" screen land
set interface "ethernet0/0" zone "Untrust"
set interface "ethernet0/1" zone "DMZ"
set interface "bgroup0" zone "Trust"
set interface bgroup0 port ethernet0/2
set interface bgroup0 port ethernet0/3
set interface bgroup0 port ethernet0/4
set interface bgroup0 port ethernet0/5
set interface bgroup0 port ethernet0/6
unset interface vlan1 ip
set interface ethernet0/0 ip 58.X.X.X/32
set interface ethernet0/0 route
set interface ethernet0/1 ip 192.168.1.1/24
set interface ethernet0/1 nat
set interface bgroup0 ip 192.168.16.1/24
set interface bgroup0 nat
unset interface vlan1 bypass-others-ipsec
unset interface vlan1 bypass-non-ip
set interface ethernet0/0 ip manageable
set interface ethernet0/1 ip manageable
set interface bgroup0 ip manageable
set interface ethernet0/0 manage ping
set interface bgroup0 manage mtrace
set interface ethernet0/0 vip interface-ip 3389 "RDP" 192.168.16.2
set interface "ethernet0/0" mip 58.X.X.X host 192.168.16.2 netmask 255.255.255.255 vr "trust-vr"
set interface "serial0/0" modem settings "USR" init "AT&F"
set interface "serial0/0" modem settings "USR" active
set interface "serial0/0" modem speed 115200
set interface "serial0/0" modem retry 3
set interface "serial0/0" modem interval 10
set interface "serial0/0" modem idle-time 10
set flow tcp-mss
set flow all-tcp-mss 1304
unset flow tcp-syn-check
unset flow tcp-syn-bit-check
set flow reverse-route clear-text prefer
set flow reverse-route tunnel always
set pki authority default scep mode "auto"
set pki x509 default cert-path partial
set ike respond-bad-spi 1
unset ike ikeid-enumeration
unset ike dos-protection
unset ipsec access-session enable
set ipsec access-session maximum 5000
set ipsec access-session upper-threshold 0
set ipsec access-session lower-threshold 0
set ipsec access-session dead-p2-sa-timeout 0
unset ipsec access-session log-error
unset ipsec access-session info-exch-connected
unset ipsec access-session use-error-log
set vrouter "untrust-vr"
exit
set vrouter "trust-vr"
exit
set url protocol websense
exit
set policy id 4 from "Untrust" to "Trust"  "Any" "Any" "ANY" permit
set policy id 4 disable
set policy id 4
exit
set policy id 1 from "Trust" to "Untrust"  "Any" "Any" "ANY" permit
set policy id 1
exit
set policy id 3 from "Untrust" to "Trust"  "Any" "VIP(ethernet0/0)" "RDP" permit
set policy id 3 disable
set policy id 3
exit
set policy id 5 from "Untrust" to "Trust"  "Any" "MIP(58.X.X.X)" "RDP" permit log
set policy id 5
exit
set pppoe name "eth0/0"
set pppoe name "eth0/0" username "USERNAME@ISP.com." password "PASSWORD"
set pppoe name "eth0/0" interface ethernet0/0
set nsmgmt bulkcli reboot-timeout 60
set ssh version v2
set config lock timeout 5
unset license-key auto-update
set snmp port listen 161
set snmp port trap 162
set vrouter "untrust-vr"
exit
set vrouter "trust-vr"
unset add-default-route
set route 0.0.0.0/0 interface ethernet0/0 gateway 192.168.16.1
exit
set vrouter "untrust-vr"
exit
set vrouter "trust-vr"
exit

Message Edited by whereisv on 09-07-2008 02:57 AM
Trusted Expert
AndyC
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎07-08-2008
0

Re: SSG5 - RDP

Hi,

 

I notice that you have set the source and destination ports of the RDP service to 3389. You only need to set the destination port to 3389 as the source port will always be different as it is what ever the client chooses.

 

Set the source ports to 0 - 65535 for the RDP service

 

See if that works.

 

If it doesnt then do a debug on the firewall to see what is happening, you can see how to do a debug on a thread a wrote at the top of the Firewall topic on this site.

 

Then post the debug

 

Regards

 

Andy

 

 

JNCIS-FWV
JNCIA-WX
JNCIA-SSL
JNCIA-ER
Visitor
whereisv
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-05-2008
0

Re: SSG5 - RDP

Andy,

 

Many thanks for your solution. The source port change worked for us.

 

Cheers

Trusted Expert
AndyC
Posts: 441
Registered: ‎07-08-2008
0

Re: SSG5 - RDP

Hi,

 

Glad its all working for you.

 

Regards

 

Andy

JNCIS-FWV
JNCIA-WX
JNCIA-SSL
JNCIA-ER
New User
Midwest-Ed
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-21-2008
0

Re: SSG5 - RDP

AndyC ... I've been working on this for the last two hours and stumbled across your post.  Didn't fully understand the VIP service.  Worked perfectly after following your post!  Bookmarked for future reference.

 

Many thanks.

 

Midwest Ed

New User
abhijit222223
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-02-2011
0

Re: SSG5 - RDP

thanks a lot , this was realy helpful for me also .

Copyright© 1999-2013 Juniper Networks, Inc. All rights reserved.