Screen OS

last person joined: 8 months ago 

This is a legacy community with limited Juniper monitoring.
  • 1.  ScreenOS not install inter-area routes if summary LSAs are learned from two areas at the same time

Posted 03-20-2012 17:38

Hi, all, I am new to Netscreen OS, I am having an OSPF problem with Netscreen (ScreenOS 6.3), I have an existing hub site (called hub1) and a bunch of remote sites running p2mp OSPF over route-based VPN, p2mp interface is placed in normal area 100, all worked well. Now I am adding a new hub (called hub2), OSPF area 0 is running on a point2point tunnel interface between hub1 and hub2, hub2 advertes a summary network 10.128.0.0/16 from area 128, spoke is getting 10.128.0.0/16 from hub1 correctly. Now I am establing a new p2mp OSPF adjacency over route-based VPN from hub2 to spokes, OSPF area is set to 200 for the p2mp tunnel interface. As soon as OSPF adjacency comes up between the spoke and hub2, spoke immediately loses network to 10.128.0.0/16,

I see the summary LSA for 10.128.0.0/16 in area 200 database on the spoke, yet spoke does not install this route, why is that?

spoke#1-> get vrouter trust-vr pro ospf database summary link-state-id 10.128.0.0
    VR: trust-vr RouterId: 10.122.65.1
    ----------------------------------

Summary LSA(s) for area 100
      Link-State-Id   Adv-Router-Id      Age  Sequence# CheckSum
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         10.128.0.0   66.94.142.130     1434 0x8000003b   0x3f73 <== This is from hub1

Summary LSA(s) for area 200
      Link-State-Id   Adv-Router-Id      Age  Sequence# CheckSum
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
         10.128.0.0   10.128.255.18     1613 0x8000000b   0x9a65 <== this is from hub2

spoke#1-> get route ip 10.128.0.0
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------