ScreenOS Firewalls (NOT SRX)

Subscription updates via proxy

I'm setting up a couple of new SSG-140 devies running Screen OS 6.2.0.  These devices will be oprating to isolate a couple of network enclaves from our main network.  As such they're located behind our corporate security perimeter, and are unable to connect to the Internet, except via a Proxy server.

I'm new to configuring these devices.  Everything I've read so far, in the doucmentation and knowledge base tells me that the device must have a direct connection to the Internet (not via a proxy) in order to retreive subscription updates from the entitlement server (I've subscribed to AV and DI signatures).  I was wondering if there might be some kind of work-around to enable me to get the updates even though I'm behind a proxy.  I'd be happy with even a kludgey, manual process, if that's what's necessary.

Thanks, in advance.

Re: Subscription updates via proxy

[ Edited ]

This is an excerpt from the user guide regarding this:

1. Downloading the Signature Pack

To save the signature pack to your local server, enter the following URL in the

address field of your browser. See Table 6 on page 125 for a list of predefined

signatures packs and the corresponding URLs.

Save attacks.bin to the local directory “C:\netscreen\attacks-db” (for loading via

the WebUI) or to your TFTP server directory C:\Program Files\TFTP Server

(when you want to use the CLI to load it).

2. Updating the Signature Pack

Configuration > Update > Attack Signature: Enter the following, then click OK:

Deep Inspection Signature Update:

Load File: Enter C:\netscreen\attacks-db\attacks.bin

Click Browse and navigate to that directory, select attacks.bin, then click

If you downloaded the server, client, or worm protection signature packs, then

enter the appropriate filename.

save attack-db from tftp attacks.bin to flash

Updating DI Patterns from a Proxy Server