Screen OS

last person joined: 7 months ago 

This is a legacy community with limited Juniper monitoring.
Expand all | Collapse all

Traversing subnets from one netscreen ns5gt to another

• 1.  Traversing subnets from one netscreen ns5gt to another

Posted 07-09-2010 20:26

Greetings,

I have 3 locations with 3 NS5GT's at each location.  Tunnels setup to all 3 locations.

At location 1 I have set up a Windows 2003 server with RRAS.

At location 1 I have set up the ns5gt with a MIP and associated policy to map an outside IP to the RRAS server IP.

I can connect fine from outside the network.

I can ping and rdp to servers in location 2.

PROBLEM; I can't ping or rdp to servers in location 3.

I inherited this environment and I am not a networking expert.  I don't know if the problems lies with the netscreens or with DNS or with RRAS.  Any thoughts?  Any thoughts on where I should look in the netscreen admin console? 

Thank you in advance.

#remote
    #forwarding
    #NS5GT
    #Port
    #Windows
    #Access
    #and
    #routing
    #RRAS

• 2.  RE: Traversing subnets from one netscreen ns5gt to another

Posted 07-10-2010 04:55

A few things to narrow down the issue.

From the RRAS console and location 1 setups

• from the RRAS can you ping location 3
    • Is location 3 a direct tunnel from location 1 or through location 2

RRAS configuration

• Is your RRAS ip pool part of your trust address objects at location 1
    • Is the RRAS windows firewall turned on
    • Is there more than one nic in the RRAS 

From your connected client

• Are your remote ping checks by name or IP address
    • If by name do they correctly resolve and time out or not resolve for location 3
    • What does trace route do for the failed pings to location 3
    • Are you using the built in MS client to connect to RRAS
    • If so, is the "use defautl gateway on remote network" checked (This is the default)