Screen OS

last person joined: 8 months ago 

This is a legacy community with limited Juniper monitoring.
  • 1.  What's the difference between firewall and router

Posted 03-27-2014 08:52

Hi Everyone,

Just a simple question,but always confused to me,i'm not clear.Anyone can giveme an answer?

I'm a QA engineer for netscreen platform more than 2 yeas in common regression testing.

Thans inadvance 

• 2.  RE: What's the difference between firewall and router

Posted 03-27-2014 12:53

Traditionally a router connects networks at the IP level (layer 3). A firewall can do the same but adds security policies to the mix.

I don't know that the terms really matter so much anymore as you can have a router that performs stateful security functions, firewalls that can route, and switches that can perform routing duties.

I guess where one would break out that this device is a router, that device is a firewall, etc comes with scale.

For example, one can collapse our border router and SSG firewall into a new SRX firewall chassis that we are deploying. We have deployed EX switches that work as both switch and router. We have deployed SRX firewalls that perform security duties, routing, and switch duties.

At a certain traffic load it makes sense to either purchase larger devices and at an even larger load it makes sense to scale the router being a routing device, the firewall being a security device, etc.

For example, an EX2200 can do some routing but you may not want to use it for full on BGP peering. A scenario like that might use a larger EX switch or you would go for a J/M/etc actual router.

• 3.  RE: What's the difference between firewall and router
    Best Answer

Posted 03-27-2014 14:14

I would say the primary difference between a router and a firewall is the state table.