Screen OS

last person joined: 8 months ago 

This is a legacy community with limited Juniper monitoring.
  • 1.  Zones, Virtual Router, Interfaces.

Posted 02-19-2014 20:17

I'm a newbie about Screen OS. I know Virtual Routers (VRs) on SSG5, one VR has individual routing table. one Security Zones binding to VR. Interfaces has been binding to Zone. 

I know forwarding traffic between VRs. But I don't Zones? traffic communication between two Zones on VR, VRs. 

Pls explain for me.

• 2.  RE: Zones, Virtual Router, Interfaces.

Posted 02-19-2014 21:30

Hello 

It depends on source/destination interfaces , routing lookup will identify the destination interface where to forward traffic  (source interface already known) , so the source interface will identify the source zone , destination interface will identify the destination zone , just you need to define security policy from source zone to destination zone to permit traffic forwarding between zones. 

Regards

• 3.  RE: Zones, Virtual Router, Interfaces.

Posted 02-19-2014 22:28

Pls define simply about zone. I dont' know exactly about it. 

• 4.  RE: Zones, Virtual Router, Interfaces.

Posted 02-19-2014 23:16

Security zones are logical entities to which one or more interfaces are bound.  they are used to divide the network into segments (distinguishing groups of hosts ) to which you can apply various security options to satisfy the needs of each segment.

At a minimum, you must define two security zones, basically to protect one area of the network from the other. by defining many security zones, you will bring finer granularity to your network security design