The New Network
Explore Juniper’s vision for network innovation and how the company and industry are shaping the future with the new network
andyingram

The Great Circle of Life

by Juniper Employee on ‎02-28-2011 03:12 PM - last edited on ‎05-09-2011 10:13 AM by Administrator Administrator

After 30 years in this industry, I am starting to detect a pattern.  Every so often, a new product comes to the market that forever changes the industry—and changes what is possible. This is a rare event; yet in my career, I have had the privilege to personally participate in four such episodes. 

The first time I was a hardware product manager at HP when we rolled out the world's first RISC microprocessor-based server.  It was seven times faster than a DEC VAX 11/780 at a quarter of the cost.  It was my job to convince customers to implement something called RISC into their data centers—ironically the most risk-averse part of the IT infrastructure.  More than once, I had to explain that "really, it is spelled with a C, not a K.”

At the time, RISC was a revolutionary new architecture based on the concept that less is more.  By simplifying the instruction set, it was possible to shrink more of the computer system onto a single piece of silicon. The result was dramatic.  Whereas the VAX implemented the system across 13 separate boards interconnected via a bus, we were able to implement the main parts of the server on a single board.  Faster, cheaper and more reliable, the child of Joel Birnbaum's powerful vision was a remarkable achievement.  It forever changed the way computers were built.  It was the logical path forward. 

At the time I predicted that within 10 years all microprocessors would be RISC designs.  And you know, I was pretty close.  With the delivery of Pentium, Intel moved to RISC in 1993.  Today the lone holdout is the “Itanic” (Itanium) processor, which implements a Very Long Instruction Word (VLIW) architecture; based upon its market share, it missed the mark.