Community Talk

last person joined: 3 days ago 

Learn how to best utilize the Elevate community and hear first about community updates.
  • 1.  Juniper Support Contract/SSG140 vs. SRX240H

Posted 11-27-2013 20:44

Hi guys,

I'm a little new to the Juniper product line so will be asking some quesitons on here over the next couple months.  Your help is appreciated.

I have 2 juniper products - 

An SRX240H running JUNOS and an SSG140 running screenOS.  

From looking around, it seems JUNOS is newer than screenOS, correct?  However, the SRX240H appears to be EOL and EOS but I didn't see any such information for the SSG140, so I'm assuming it can still be supported by a contract?

I was thinking of taking the SRX240H out of production and replacing with the SSG140 and obtaining a contract - but would this be a backwards step (assuming JUNOS is newer than screenOS)?

Also, would there be any cluster capabilities between an SRX240H and an SSG140 or must the 2 products be the same model in order to form a cluster?

#Supportcontract
    #screenos
    #JUNOS

• 2.  RE: Juniper Support Contract/SSG140 vs. SRX240H

Posted 11-28-2013 09:54
    From looking around, it seems JUNOS is newer than screenOS, correct?  

Yes, there are two firewall software platforms ScreenOS and Junos.  Juniper bought ScreenOS in the Netscreen aquisition and has been migrating these firewall features into the main Junos code since that time.  Junos will eventually have all these features as a result.

However, the SRX240H appears to be EOL and EOS but I didn't see any such information for the SSG140, so I'm assuming it can still be supported by a contract?

The SRX240H PLATFORM is NOT EOL.  Only some specific VERSIONS of early release hardware are listed on the EOL sheet.  See these highlighted statements in the EOL notice.