Switching

last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  Best practice to implement Ex3400 and SRX345 in datacenter

Posted 06-10-2019 13:26

Hello,

I am new to juniper and i hope u guys can help me with my questions regarding setting up best practice company juniper network infrastructure in datacenter. I am used to cisco enviroment. please bare with me as a newbie and still learning mode in the juniper enviroment. My main questions is how can i setup a best practice network in the datacenter. So i made an example of a draft design of how i would like to setup the network enviroment.

So i have 4x EX3400 switch in Virtual Chasis mode, 2x SRX345 in active/passive mode as failover and at last i have few hosts connected into Ex3400 switches. The EX3400 switches will only act as layer2 and layer3 routing will be done on SRX345. All the vlans will be stretched towards SRX345 as trunk. Therefore, the SRX345 will be configured with sub interface vlan l3 for each vlan (web01, FTP, Storage and Syslog) and all the hosts will receive default-gw IP from their own vlan on SRX. And a static default-route will point towards SRX from EX3400. And from the SRX a static default-route will be towards the next-hop of ISPA/ISPB with prepending/localpreference/metric isp traffic. Because of the active/passive, the both SRX should be on the same ISP subnet for advertising. Please do see the attached design example.

design.JPG

1. What i mentioned above should this be okay  to setup this enviroment?.
    2. Do i also have to add different security-zone for each vlan in reth1 on the SRX?, if i do need to do this, can u show me an example.