Ethernet Switching
Highlighted
Ethernet Switching

Ex3300 virtual chassis split

[ Edited ]
2 weeks ago

Hello all,

im studying virtual chassis concepts,  as i don't have required lab to test my scenarios. can you guys please help me with my questions?  please check topology of 4-member VC:

1)  split detection is enabled:   what happens if vc-port broken on Master, does it will cause any issue to VC? as connection is redundant, hope there will be no issue, as one of link broken(let say towards Backup) still master has redundant VC connection is there with(towards linecard directly), as far as i know there will be no issues? correct me if im wrong

2) split detection is enabled: suppose, if "Backup" member got failed to boot/dead completely. next linecard will take role as "Backup" (as split is detected in VC, as there is change in topology , Both member0(master) and linecard(member2) will start mastreship algorithm. As already in master, priroity is defined "Master" will retain it's role, now after "Backup" is dead then "Linecard" with priority 253 ==> will takeover as "Backup"?)

or as split detection is enabled and master consider there is split and will push it's own master role to line card?

In device only master-ship priority settings are defined:

show configuration virtual-chassis | display set

set virtual-chassis member 0 mastership-priority 255
set virtual-chassis member 1 mastership-priority 254
set virtual-chassis member 2 mastership-priority 253
set virtual-chassis member 3 mastership-priority 252

vctopology.jpg

Thanks already for help Smiley Happy

2 REPLIES 2
Highlighted
Ethernet Switching

Re: Ex3300 virtual chassis split

2 weeks ago

Hi madhutraining,

The split detection feature avoids a dual master scenario when a member is detached from the VC.