Switching

last person joined: 18 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about EX and QFX portfolios and all switching solutions across your data center, campus, and branch locations.
  • 1.  Removing two members switches from (four members in a Virtual Chassis)

Posted 08-01-2018 07:38

Hi All 

I have four ex-4300 switches configured in a single virtual chassis.  FPC-1 is my master and FPC-0 is my backup , FPC 2 and FPC 3 are in linecard role. I want to perform the following things with out loosing the configuration and master role of my switch :

Virtual chassis configured in preprovisioned role. Kindly help me how I can do these tasks as i am totally new to Juniper side.

1) Change the Backup Role from FPC -0 to FPC-3.

2) After that FPC1 would be my master and FPC 3 would be my backup. FPC 0 and FPC-2 would be in linecard role.

3) Then I want to remove FPC 0 and FPC 2 from this virtual chassis.

4) After the removal of FPC 0 and FPC 2 , Only two members ( FPC 1 and FPC 3 will left in that virtual chassis).

5) I want to change  FPC 1 to FPC 0 ( MASTER) and FPC 3 TO FPC 1 ( Backup).

Config is mentioned below : 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

root@sw5.mtl4> show virtual-chassis status

Preprovisioned Virtual Chassis
    Virtual Chassis ID: 8fa1.ded1.a1d1
    Virtual Chassis Mode: Enabled
    Mstr Mixed Route Neighbor List
    Member ID Status Serial No Model prio Role Mode Mode ID Interface

0 (FPC 0) Prsnt PE3717273221 ex4300-48t 129 Backup N VC                  1 vcp-255/1/0

2 vcp-255/1/1
    1 (FPC 1) Prsnt PE3717278547 ex4300-48t 129 Master* N VC                3 vcp-255/1/0
                                                                                                                                                        0 vcp-255/1/1
    2 (FPC 2) Prsnt PE3717274806 ex4300-48t 0 Linecard N VC                    0 vcp-255/1/0