Automation

last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about Apstra, Paragon, and all things network automation.
  • 1.  Commands executed in the wrong order

Posted 01-12-2011 05:15

I recently started learning Junos scripting and have run into a confusing problem: The different steps are executed in the wrong order. Either there is some fundamental property of the language that I haven't yet grasped, or I have encountered a weird bug.

What I'm trying to do is to save the configuration to a file and then upload that file to an FTP server. Here's the script:

/* upload-conf.slax */
    version 1.0;
    ns junos = "http://xml.juniper.net/junos/*/junos";
    ns xnm = "http://xml.juniper.net/xnm/1.1/xnm";
    ns jcs = "http://xml.juniper.net/junos/commit-scripts/1.0";
    import "../import/junos.xsl";

match / {
        /* Save the configuration to a file. */
        /* Didn't find an API element corresponding to the following command. */
        var $save-cmd = <command> "show configuration | save test.confg";
        var $save-results = jcs:invoke($save-cmd);
        <op-script-results> {
            /* If the following line is left out, the command is not executed. */
            copy-of $save-results;
        }

/* Ask for username and password and then upload the file to an FTP server. */
        var $username = jcs:get-input("Username:");
        var $password = jcs:get-secret("Password:");
        var $copy-cmd = <file-copy> {
            <source> "test.confg";
            <destination> "ftp://" _ $username _ ":" _ $password _ "@192.0.2.17/";
        }
        var $results = jcs:invoke($copy-cmd);
        expr jcs:output("Uploaded file.");
    }

This is what happens when I run the script:

me@router> op upload-conf
    Username:me
    Password:
    Uploaded file.
    Wrote 856 lines of output to 'test.confg'

me@router>