Junos Automation (Scripting)
Highlighted

Trouble automating some configuration with space.

‎06-08-2018 02:45 PM

When the network was designed each branch had a set number of vlans. Each branch also had unique vlan id's that corresponded to an ae0.xxxx unit number. The problem with this is each branch has unique unit numbers making it impossible to use space to send some coammnds to all my branches.

For instace I made a zone for each of these interfaces and pushed that out through space. Now I need to be able to assign the ae0.xxxx to those zones. Since they are unique at each site id have to do this manually...

Im new to juniper and I'm trying to find away around this. I am thinking configlets is the key? I am not actually sure although.

Every interface has a "somwhat" static description which I assume I can use to grab at least the vlan ID. Since the vlan id number is right under description in the configuration. Since the vlan number and unit number are the same I can make it a variable I assume.

For instance: <description>"xxxx Security systems" /description>

xxxx is a phython variable I use to create the branch configuration and is unique. "Security systems" is static at every branch.

Is this the right path to achieve my goals? If so does somone have better documentation then juniper I could use to figure this out?

6 REPLIES 6
Highlighted

Re: Trouble automating some configuration with space.

‎06-09-2018 04:04 AM

Another alternative to consider is that VLAN id is only locally signficant.  So assuming you have layer 3 connections between branches and your DC or central site, there is nothing wrong with using the same set of VLAN id for the subnets you need at the remote site.

You will frequently see this type of setup for scale out retail or branch office setups.  While the ip addresses are shared across the network and need to be unique, the vlans are all local so it makes no differece that the same set is deployed everywhere.