Junos Automation (Scripting)
Highlighted

test the top-level of a result from jcs:invoke()

‎12-10-2015 08:10 AM

I'm quite new to Junos scripting, SLAX, and XPath, so I know this will be an easy question to answer.  I am having some difficutly finding the right search terms to get the answer on my own, however.

if I have the following:

/* build rpc call for getting route from route-table */
    var $table_route_rpc = {
      <get-route-information> {
        <destination> $route;
        <extensive> ;
        <exact> ;
        <table> $vrf _ ".inet.0";
      }
    }

/* run the rpc call */
    var $route_results = jcs:invoke($table_route_rpc) ;

When the user has specified the VRF and route correctly, I know I can do things like:

if ($route_results/route-information/route-table/rt/rt-entry/age[@junos:seconds > 3600]) {
  /* route is older than an hour */
}

but if the user mistypes the VRF, $route_results will have <xnm:error> as the top-level element.  Iwant to test for that condition, but I'm not finding a good way to find the element-name of the top of $route_results.  The best thing that I've come up with, which works but looks wonky, is 

if ($route_results/../xnm:error) {
  /* error message */
}

tHanks for the help. Every post is a learning opportunity.

3 REPLIES 3
Highlighted

Re: test the top-level of a result from jcs:invoke()

[ Edited ]
‎12-10-2015 08:21 AM

The most reliable method I've found for figuring this out just insert  a debug line in your script that does a "copy-of $route_results".   Then invoke the script to force an error, then pipe the output through | display xml.

That will show you the error XML that you can parse.

/doug

--
"There he goes. One of God's own prototypes. A high-powered mutant of some kind never even considered for mass production. Too weird to live, and too rare to die." --HST
Highlighted

‎12-10-2015 09:09 AM

Thanks for the reponse.