Junos
Highlighted
Junos

16x GE UPIM Switch Module Configuration

‎10-21-2008 10:31 AM
I have a J-2320 that was recently purchased by my customer with a 16 port switch module along with a T1 card.  I am having trouble with the configuration as I am relatively new to Junos.  Can anyone assist me with a configuration snippet on how to properly configure my switch ports to be in 1 VLAN and communicate accross my T1.  Any guidance will be greatly appreciated. 
Mitch Griffin
IT PITSTOP Inc.
www.itpitstopinc.com
5 REPLIES 5
Highlighted
Junos

Re: 16x GE UPIM Switch Module Configuration

‎10-21-2008 10:59 AM

First you need to tell the system that you want the 16 ports to be in switching mode:

chassis {

fpc 1 {

pic 0 {

ethernet {

pic-mode switching;

}

}

}

Or "set chassis fpc 1 pic 0 ethernet pic-mode switching" replacing the "1" with which ever module slot the switch is in.

Once that is in you can configure the virtual interface with it's associated IP/protocols:

interfaces {

ge-1/0/0 {

description "Link to R&D LAB";

unit 0 {

family inet {

address 10.10.10.10/24;

}

}

}

Or use the associated set commands, again referencing the appropriate ge-x/0/0 for the slot you have the switching module in.

From there you need only setup the T1 port with it's IP's and whatever routing protocols you may want to run. 

Highlighted
Junos

‎10-21-2008 11:18 AM

How would I go about adding the switch module ports to vlans.  I was able to add the ports to a vlan using the member command, but I was not able to actually create the vlan.  I also do not want to have an ip address on the interface itself.  I want it to function more like a cisco layer 3 switch with an SVI. 

Mitch Griffin
IT PITSTOP Inc.
www.itpitstopinc.com
Highlighted
Junos

‎10-21-2008 12:42 PM