Junos OS

last person joined: 6 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about Junos OS.
  • 1.  Announcement routes to ospf between virtual-router and default router

Posted 05-15-2019 06:40

Hello!
    I'm just learning and in the office I suddenly had a difficult task, which I am not ready for.
    There is the following situation:
    There is an office that is fully functional on the router3.
    Router3 has a tunnel interface st1 to router2.
    The router3 enabled the protocol ospf. The tunnel interface st1 is in area 0, and the rest of the interfaces looking towards the local network are located in area 1.

fasdfasfasdf.pngThere was a task:
    Transfer users to a separate subnet.
    I divided the routing tables on the router3 using the virtual-routing router instance, because otherwise, the routes go through router2, and I need to be through router1, because services for users of a separate subnet are located behind it.
    In the instance router, I created a new area 2. In which I included the St2 tunnel interface to Router 1 and local interfaces.
    On router 1, I created AREA 2 and turned on the St2 tunnel interface there.
    But nothing works. I do not see in the new route routing table from the next area.

I'm obviously doing something wrong and I can't figure it out, for me this topic is very complex and new. How do engineers solve similar problems? I would be grateful for any help. Sorry for my English.

#area
    #ospf
    #routing-instances
    #virtual-router

• 2.  RE: Announcement routes to ospf between virtual-router and default router

Posted 05-15-2019 09:01
      |   view attached

Reading your description, this is what I am understanding: 

You have this topology: 

OSPF 1.png

But because the traffic from PCs to Services is going to R1 instead of R2, you did this:

OSPF 2.png 

• I don't understand the area 2 including the switch and PC on the bottom right. 
    • Is R1 somehow connected to services? 
    • Are the tunnels up?