Junos
Junos

Asymmetric PSKs with IKEv2

[ Edited ]
‎12-27-2019 09:27 AM

Hi, all!  I'm new here, so I apologize if I incorrectly categorized this post.  I'm new to Juniper and Junos, but am loving the features I am finding.  I have a fair background in networking, training mostly on Cisco devices for work and building my own routers with CRUX Linux and FreeBSD for personal use.

I typically build IKEv2 IPSec VPNs using asymmetric PSKs, but I am having some difficulty finding this on our Juniper SRX320 devices (running Junos 18.2R3).  I tried searching the forums, but didn't see any guidance on how to do this.  From what I can gather, the `pre-shared-key` directive can only be set once per `security ike policy`, which sounds like asymmetric PSKs are not supported.  Is this true?  Or am I just digging in the wrong place?  Thank you!

P.S. I have built working IKEv2 IPSec VPNs with the Juniper SRX320, but the same PSK is used on both ends.

--
mr.dub
3 REPLIES 3
Junos

Re: Asymmetric PSKs with IKEv2

‎12-28-2019 01:51 PM

Hello Mr. Dub,

First of all, welcome to the wonderful world of JUNOS. I am glad to hear that you are loving Juniper & JunOS.

Coming to your question, in Juniper devices, PSK has to match on both ends. If you want different peers to have different PSK , all you have to do is create as many policies (with different PSKs) and gateways.  

Note that after the configuration has been committed, you can only see the ecrypted & hashed value of PSK in the configuration file.

I may suggest you to consider "Certificate Based VPN" as an option too as it gives more security than PSK .  This VPN requires a certificate exchange with the peer whose certificate is also signed by a trusted CA. Since you use Linux/FreeBSD, you can generate the certificates locally and sign it from your linux based devices.

Check this out : -

https://www.juniper.net/documentation/en_US/junos/topics/topic-map/security-digital-certificates-wit...