Junos
Junos

Basic understanding of JunOS security patching

‎04-18-2017 10:35 AM

Hi there,

I'm new to the world of JunOS and have a question about security patching of our EX3300 switches.

Currently we are running 15.1R5.5. How can I see which security patch level I have? Here for example is mentioned that this specific security issue is solved in version 15.1R5-S2. Where can I get and install this?

Thanks for explaining and many greets

Stephan

13 REPLIES 13
Junos

Re: Basic understanding of JunOS security patching

‎04-19-2017 05:17 PM

You download Junos versions from support and drill into them by the specific platform.

http://www.juniper.net/support/downloads/?p=ex3300

From here you choose the major release on the right and the all the available options for that platform are listed.

Note that not every detail version appears on every platform.

Steve Puluka BSEET - Juniper Ambassador
IP Architect - DQE Communications Pittsburgh, PA (Metro Ethernet & ISP)
http://puluka.com/home
Junos

‎01-16-2018 03:13 AM

Hi spuluka,

thanks a lot for your answer - and sorry for my late reply!

So I just downloaded jinstall-ex-3300-15.1R6.7-domestic-signed.tar. But I'm wondering about the last modified date of this file: 2017-04-23. Is this really the latest version with the newest security patches?

Thanks a lot and many greets

Stephan

Junos

‎01-16-2018 04:53 AM

HI,

Follow this link:

https://www.juniper.net/support/downloads/?p=ex3300#sw

On the upper right side, there is sidedown option called TYPE/OS, tab on that you will see "JUNOS SR".

The SR is service release patch. https://screenshots.firefox.com/uJrw8na4M1a9ViAF/www.juniper.net

Regards,

Karan

/Karan Dhanak
# Please mark my solution as accepted if it helped, Kudos are appreciated as well.

Junos

‎01-16-2018 04:58 AM

To further add some info.. i noticed you mentioned of JUNOS 15.1R5-S2,  The latest inline service release for 15.1R5 branch is S3 & recommended to latest patch in its branch.