Junos OS

last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about Junos OS.
Expand all | Collapse all

JUNOS 9.0 and Monitoring Traffic

• 1.  JUNOS 9.0 and Monitoring Traffic

Posted 08-11-2008 10:41

Hey all, I'm new to the JUNOS world and I've hoping someone could explain why the following happens.

I have 2 J2330 routers running 9.0 and a XP system setup in my test network assembled as such:

192.168.1.100 (XP) ------- 192.168.1.1 (Router 1 ge-0/0/0.0) (Router 1 ge-0/0/1.0) 192.168.2.1-----------192.168.2.2 (Router 2 ge-0/0/1.0)

RIP has been setup on both routers.

If I do a continuos ping from 192.168.1.100 -> 192.168.2.2, all responses are received; however, if I go to Router 1 and do a tcpdump or a monitor command, I never see any ICMP traffic, only ARP information and RIP updates.  Shouldn't I be able to see my pings going across the wire?

#traffic
    #JUNOS
    #montior

• 2.  RE: JUNOS 9.0 and Monitoring Traffic
    Best Answer

Posted 08-12-2008 11:14

'monitor interface traffic', and tcpdump will only capture traffic that is originated by, or destined for, the router itself.  In order to capture transit traffic, you will need to use sampling, or firewall rules.

Regards,

Ben

• 3.  RE: JUNOS 9.0 and Monitoring Traffic

Posted 10-01-2008 23:46

Hi,

I trying to tcpdump or monitor, if you prefered,  one interface on my J2320 version 9.1 butI do not see any traffic.

I'm currently configuring the snmp on my J2320 but it doesn't work Smiley Sad

So I began to sniff .... 

I do not see any traffic.

I wondered if I correctly configured my traffic monitor, so I've tryed to sniff a ping. No more result....

I do not understand why cause I was sniffing traffic going to the J2320.

does any one have an answer ... an idear ?

regards

Saruhand

• 4.  RE: JUNOS 9.0 and Monitoring Traffic

Posted 10-02-2008 08:09

Hi,

Do You see any differences between sniffing on the whole interface and just the specific unit?