Junos
Highlighted
Junos

New to Junos

‎03-02-2008 12:32 PM

Hello,

I am new to Junos, I do have experience in Cisco netowkring but I would like to learn and work on Juniper Network... so how I can start working on Junos... I mean as a beginner how can I learn JUNOS?

one more thing what is unit0 in interface configuration of JUNOS?

regards

Dev

4 REPLIES 4
Junos

Re: New to Junos

‎03-03-2008 05:04 AM
Hi Dev,

Welcome to JUNOS.  I'm sure, after a little while getting used to the differences, you'll love it :-)

There are some good books to start off with.  I'd recommend Aviva Garrett's JUNOS Cookbook.  It gives you a whole load of common scenarios and how to handle them in JUNOS.  I'd also recommend Harry Reynolds and Doug Marschke's JUNOS Enterprise Routing.

The online documentation is very thorough and all available to anyone who wishes to take a look.  You can get that at http://www.juniper.net/techpubs/software.

You might also want to take a look at the JUNOS Fast Track program at http://www.juniper.net/training/fasttrack/.

To answer your other question, "what's unit0 all about?"...

JUNOS describes interfaces either as physical interfaces, which take the form of <type>-<fpc>/<pic>/<port> (e.g. ge-1/0/3), and logical interfaces.  The logical interfaces are configured using the unit <number> notation.  Each unit is a new logical interface.  Obviously, it depends upon the physical interace and encapsulation as to whether it makes sense to have more than one logical interface (e.g. a SONET interface with PPP encapsulation will only have unit 0, since PPP doesn't give a mechanism for logical separation, while a SONET interface running Frame Relay will have a logical interface per DLCI).

The complete logical interface is described as <type>-<fpc>/<pic>/<port>.<unit#>.