Junos
Highlighted
Junos

Problem upgrading Junos Space

‎02-13-2020 01:48 PM

I recently inherited a virtual environment including a Junos Space VM running 17.1 R1.7. I have little knowledge about the Space platform but I am proficient in all OS's and most hypervisors. I was asked to upgrade it to the latest version (19.4 R1.3) but for the life of me I can't get anything to apply to this installation. I did my homework on the acceptable upgrade path, but given the issues I'm experiencing, I felt it best to try upgrading to 17.2 R1.4 as the least common denominator to moving up a version. However, uploading the IMG through the web interface nets me an error about the version being incompatible with the version I am currently running. Based on the online docs, I checked the "/var/log/jboss/servers/server1/server.log" file and found this:

2020-02-13 18:01:25,551 WARN [net.juniper.jmp.cmp.resourceDistributionManager.ejb.softwareManager.SoftwareManagerBean] (ajp-space-00505698d6dc/a.b.c.d:8009-7) Application Deployer: Platform version '12.2' is not in list of versions supported by 'Platform'. Please make sure that minPlatformVersion in app-info.xml contains the version number for this platform.

I verified the hash on the IMG to ensure the download was valid. Network Director (3.1 R1.7) and Security Director (17.1 R1.514?) are also installed. The Network Management Platform listed in the applications list is 12.2 R1.88888. I wasn't sure if this was correct so I deployed a brand new (fresh install, nothing configured, trial license) 19.4 R1.3 virtual appliance and it lists the NMP as 12.2 R1.88888 also. My existing Space VM is showing as licensed (Commerical, JS-PLATFORM, Unlimited).

Any help in getting this VM upgraded to a more current version is appreciated. I couldn't find anything on Google related to this error or the mention of the 12.2 "mismatched" NMP version. Thanks.

-----