Junos OS

last person joined: 3 days ago 

Ask questions and share experiences about Junos OS.
  • 1.  delete / default interface

Posted 06-01-2015 00:22

Hi,

i am very new to Juniper technology; want to find out similar command of cisco " default interface xxx" in juniper.

i found & used "delete interface xxx" command in Juniper SRX. but observed after entering this command & commit;

i lost same interface in show configuration. i am completely unable to view this interface so can't configure it. so please let me know now how can i come back my interface in configuration & how to make interface default.

S@ndy

• 2.  RE: delete / default interface

Posted 06-01-2015 02:26

Hi,

you have to understand that in JUNOS the configuration is just a text file (internally an XML file) and you can put anything into the configuration or delete it independent of which interfaces are physically present. You can view the physical interfaces using "show interfaces terse"

You can simple configure the interface using the "set interfaces <ifname> ..." command to generate the relevant part in the configuration. 

Cheers,

Carsten

• 3.  RE: delete / default interface

Posted 06-01-2015 02:42

Carsten,

Thanks for reply....

but even this interface is not shown in "show interfaces terse" as well as any other show command (rest are shown)

and when i tried to use "set interface" command ; after putting "set interface ?" in context list of interfaces my interface is not shown. even i put 'set interface <x/x/x>'  command is not accepted.

i rolled back configuration; but this is not solution.

as well as please let me know how to make interface default in junos.

S@ndy.

• 4.  RE: delete / default interface
    Best Answer

Posted 06-01-2015 03:56